Not-So-Monotonous Cardio Workout

8 Jan

The gym has been PACKED. Lots of people working on their New Years resolutions I’m sure! The real test will be if they’re still here in 2 weeks… :-/.

Group fitness has been booming with participants! We have over 50 classes on the schedule this semester, some new and some old. Power hour debut yesterday; the concept behind this class is HIIT and to get a kick-butt workout in under 40 minutes. I don’t think the participants caught-on at first, but by the end, they realized that the workout is coming to an end and they picked it up! Hopefully the numbers keep climbing throughout the semester!

This semester, I scheduled set office hours for my graduate assistantship. Last semester, I came and went and found that although I enjoyed the freedom, I didn’t feel like I accomplished much in my hours. My weeks will look like this:

  • Monday’s 9-2pm
  • Tuesday’s 6-1pm
  • Wednesday’s 6-1pm
  • Thursday’s 6-1pm
  • Friday’s TBA

Why so many crack-of-dawns? I’m training more! Last semester, I taught ~4-5 classes a week and completed only fitness assessments when needed. This semester, I’m teaching 3 classes (and subbing where I can) and being a trainer in The Biggest Loser program we offer. My group will train Tuesday’s and Thursday’s at 6am and I do BLAST at 6am on Wednesday’s. I feel I have a much better grasp on getting things done in my designated hours.

This morning I completed a not-so-monotonous cardio workout. I only do 3-AT MOST-HIIT workouts a week, interspersed with strength, mind/body’s, and steady-state workouts too. I did a lot of strength workouts yesterday (Power hour, TRX demo) so today I wanted to do steady-state with some plyo’s at the end.

Slightly adapted from Julie at PBFingers’ Beat Boredom Interval Workout:

20-Minute Elliptical:

  • 0-10:00 @ Resistance 7
  • 10-12:30 @ Resistance 9
  • 12:30-15:00 @ Resistance 10
  • 15:00-20 @ Resistance 7

10-Minute Treadmill:

  • 0-5:00 @ Speed 7, Incline 1
  • 5:00-10:00 @ Speed 4.2, Incline 8

7:30-Minute Plyometrics:

  • 1:00 Burpees
  • 2:00 Jumping Jacks
  • 3:00 Mountain Climbers
  • 4:00 Speed Skaters
  • 5:00 Jump Squats
  • 5:30 Burpees
  • 6:00 Jumping Jacks
  • 6:30 Mountain Climbers
  • 7:00 Speed Skaters
  • 7:30 Jump Squats

Stay happy 🙂

6 Responses to “Not-So-Monotonous Cardio Workout”

  1. Michelle @ Eat Move Balance January 8, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    I love changing up the cardio machines to keep from getting bored. Great workout idea–thanks!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit January 8, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

      If I want to do only cardio, changing up the machines helps beat boredom! I’m glad I’m not the only crazy person jumping from machine to machine :):)

  2. sarahsdoodles January 9, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    Naturally, my gym has been packed as well! Usually, I’d go later at night to avoid the post-work crowds, but with it being so chilly out and the sun setting earlier, I’d rather just get it out of the way before I cozy up on the couch for the night!

  3. Life After Swimming January 9, 2013 at 5:45 pm #

    That’s awesome that you get to teach so many classes and train people! Also awesome the amount of hours you work at your assistantship…I only got like 15 a week!

  4. OUCampusRec January 10, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    Reblogged this on OU CampusRec.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Favorite Cardio Training | - January 14, 2013

    […] Not-So-Monotonous Cardio Workout (katieept.com) […]

Speak your mind

