MIRSA Conference at SVSU

25 Oct

What a weekend!

lots of coffee before the conference begins

Me, the rest of the GA’s, and most of the professional staff all loaded up the cars and drove to Saginaw Valley State University for the MIRSA conference! It started early Thursday morning and lasted through Friday afternoon; lots of educational sessions were available to attend as well as the social on Thursday night.

Sarah, Stephanie, and I pre-social!

I attended all of the fitness-related sessions. I love hearing what other universities are doing in their respective settings! I leave so motivated and have ideas flying around upstairs! One session that I really enjoyed was about including all types of participants in a group fitness class and how to properly teach to them. I’ve never been faced with a situation like that so learning how to instruct a certain way hit home.

There was an early morning boot camp workout that I really wanted to attend but decided to do my own circuit at the hotel gym.

I completed a 20-minute walking workout followed by a mini body weight circuit; it doesn’t compare to flipping tires like Laura did! It did feel good, though, to sweat the drinks out from the night beforebefore sitting through more sessions, a business meeting, and the ride home.

It was my first MIRSA conference and I’m super excited to see what student lead-on in Chicago next year has in store! There may be a presentation involved.. ;-).

4 Responses to “MIRSA Conference at SVSU”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin October 25, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

    I love conferences and meeting new people, sounds like a blast

  2. Valentine Adsit November 3, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    This post was saved as a favorite :), I like your website!

  3. Detective games just for fun May 20, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

    MIRSA Conference at SVSU | K.E.P.T. You Fit is an amazing share. Thanks for this writing.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Updog Yoga, Rochester « K.E.P.T. You Fit - November 5, 2012

    […] away at a conference […]

Speak your mind

