TGIFF

13 Oct

Thank Goodness it’s Fitness Friday!

Thanks to Katie over at Talk Less, Say More for hosting a day dedicated to fitness!

Who doesn’t love this idea?

My week in workouts:

  • Monday-taught Core & More and Cycling.
  • Tuesday- 5 mile run & 3 sets of 6 repetitions: 1) clean & press, 2) shoulder press, 3) squats, 4) bent-over rows.
  • Wednesday- NADA!
  • Thursday- taught Abs, Glutes, & Thighs and ran 2 miles on the awful treadmill.
  • Friday- Get Ripped-Slim N’ Lean workout

My morning started out with a tough total body weights workout; since I’ve been incorporating weight training back into my schedule, I’m trying to do one session solely dedicated to weights a week (no cardio included). Because I don’t include cardio, I make it a point to move from exercise to exercise in a quick and efficient manner; this helps keep my heart rate elevated throughout the entire hour!

Back when I relied on DVDs as my workout resource, I loved the Get Ripped! series. They were super challenging at first (because I never lifted in that way before. Scratch that. I never lifted before) but were a great way to track my progress. These DVD series worked more on muscular endurance, training the slow-twitch muscle fibers to be able to sustain longer sets/reps with lighter weights, rather than muscular strength, training fast-twitch muscle fibers for one heavy rep. Another benefit of the Get Ripped series is that each workout utilizes time under tension (TUT); training in a different way than I’m used to always leads to a GREAT workout and I know DOMS is coming to visit :). Nerd alert: I’ve memorized these workouts so I can perform them, sans DVD, in a gym setting.

Slim N’ Lean Mock-Workout:

  1. squats (40lb. barbel)
  2. pendulum lunges (12.5lb. dumbbells)
  3. chest press (12.5lb. dumbbells)
  4. dead lifts & single-leg bent over rows (12.5lb. dumbbells)
  5. push-ups & external rotations (body weight/8lb. dumbbell)
  6. triceps dips & extensions (body weight/ 12lb. dumbbell)
  7. hammer & biceps curls (10 lb. dumbbells)
  8. single-leg squats & plie squats (body weight/15lb. dumbbell)
  9. lateral raises & overhead presses (10 lb. dumbbell)
  10. calf raises (body weight)

AND

Has anyone (Michiganders mainly) tasted Biggby coffee?

life-changing.

11 Responses to “TGIFF”

  1. Michelle @ Eat Move Balance October 13, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    I have both a Biggby and a Starbucks right down the street, and I actually prefer Biggby most of the time! Isn’t it good?!?

    Love the strength training workout. I’m trying to incorporate more of that in my workout routines as well–and cut back on cardio. It’s hard though. I’m a cardio junkie. But, I admit, the weights do feel really good. 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit October 14, 2012 at 11:55 pm #

      SO GOOD! I just get the Cafe au Lait and it’s so much better than anything I’ve had before-I just got my Biggby card 🙂 I strive for a balance between the two; I’m a runner at heart and weights are a passion of mine!

  2. Ellen @ UnderCover Runner Eats October 13, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    I will forever be calling Biggby “Beaners” since that was it’s original name and it started in my hometown! So good and I really do prefer it to all other coffee shops.

    I love strength training like none other. I love the muscles that I have grown over the past year since I’ve started to take it more seriously.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit October 14, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

      So jealous!! It’s a great coffee shop-I just got my Biggby card today 🙂 Isn’t building lean, toned muscle awesome? Keep it up!

  3. Alex @ therunwithin October 13, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    those are some kick butt workouts! have a good weekend!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit October 14, 2012 at 11:56 pm #

      Ohhh I felt them all weekend! Hoping you had a marve weekend too Alex!

  4. Alex @ Brain, Body, Because October 16, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    Wow! You had an awesome week! You’re so good about sticking to your workouts 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. ROCKtober Review & Workout « K.E.P.T. You Fit - October 17, 2012

    […] exam! It doesn’t even have to be a long, drawn-out workout; even a quick 20 minute circuit, strength training, cardio workout, or yoga/Pilates session will do the trick. It’s about finding […]

  2. ROCKtober Review & Workout « OU CampusRec - October 26, 2012

    […] exam! It doesn’t even have to be a long, drawn-out workout; even a quick 20 minute circuit, strength training, cardio workout, or yoga/Pilates session will do the trick. It’s about finding “you” in […]

  3. 250 Reps..and some « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 6, 2012

    […] Workout Wednesday Thursday..of course […]

  4. New Year, New Rear with Active Vixens « K.E.P.T. You Fit - January 4, 2013

    […] is a GREAT day, not only because it’s Friday, but also because I received amazing news last night! Thanks to Meagan, the founder of and […]

Speak your mind

