Intervals Around Campus

28 Aug

Happy Tuesday!

This week is shut down week, so the entire Rec center is off-limits to students, members, and faculty/staff. It’s also cleaning, reorganizing equipment, and making sure the gym looks spotless before the semester starts next week.

Yesterday was painfully spent moving equipment from one side of the center to the other so a cleaning crew could come in and deep clean the floors and mats. Do you realize HOW MUCH equipment a gym has? When you look at a gym, you see the whole picture, however, when you move the equipment, that “whole picture” has about 50 “littler pictures” that attach to it. Every single plate (and its brother) needs to be moved AND all the accessories that come with each piece of equipment (clamps, straps, etc.).

It’s now day 2 of equipment moving and cleaning, or, day 2 of working on my grip strength because I’m carrying 45 plates from one side of the gym to the other. Ouchie!

The point of this post was not to rant about moving equipment and the pain its inflicting on me, because it’s soooo detrimental but rather, the run/walk interval I completed prior to the agony!

The campus is a complete circle, which makes running routes easy to follow. I haven’t ventured too far because I am still super new and, with my lack of direction-sense, that circle will turn into a maze. There are a couple routes (courtesy of the fitness department!) that I’ve been on and are simple to remember:

As a way to change-up the monotony of running, I decided to include intervals into the 2.2 mile route:

  • from the Rec Center, turn right onto Pioneer Dr.
  • turn left onto Ravine Dr.
  • turn left onto Meadow Brook Rd. you’ll pass the residence halls and a huge parking lot. walk/run towards the traffic circle and follow it all the way around until you’re heading down a hill.
  • when you reach Pioneer Dr. again, turn left. push up the hill to the Rec Center and you’re there!

Usually I stick to interval training on the treadmill where I can really push myself, speed and incline-wise, and can’t cheat, but today I was taking it outside! You really can’t be nature; the natural inclines of the hills, the wind blowing against you, various terrains, and the spontaneous “Do Not Enter” signs that make you re-route are all perks of exercising outside.

Next time you head to the gym to do your treadmill workout, take it outside instead! Alternate power walking for 30-60 seconds (fitness level TBD) with running/sprinting for 30-45-60-90 seconds. Not only will you have completed a functional, heart-pumping workout, but you’ll feel rejuvinated and have a post-workout glow-sans blush!

7 Responses to “Intervals Around Campus”

  1. Alex @ Brain, Body, Because August 29, 2012 at 12:37 pm #

    I love intervals and fatleks to break up the monotony of running. They really help time go by.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit September 2, 2012 at 7:26 am #

      Agreed! I always find myself doing the same time frames though..THAT I need to switch up!

  2. Life After Swimming August 29, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

    I am so bad with directions. once I move in December I’m sure it will take me like a year to find my way around the new area. I do enjoy intervals though! I feel they hold me more accountable and it’s always nice to mix things up 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit September 2, 2012 at 7:26 am #

      Good I’m not the only one! Moving is so exciting-I’m happy for you!

  3. Rebekah September 30, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

    I consider something genuinely special in this internet site.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Add 1 Mile To That « K.E.P.T. You Fit - September 7, 2012

    […] run around campus! I’m telling you, OU has some serious hills! I ran the same route as before (minus the intervals) but did it twice around. I then wanted another hill (say whaaaaaat) so instead […]

  2. BHAG’s in Detroit | K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 17, 2013

    […] started with a brisk, 5.75 mile run around Oakland U’s campus! I absolutely LOVE using the MapMyRun website; it’s a useful tool for the […]

Speak your mind

