Hello Oakland University!

20 Aug

What a busy week it’s been!

Moving up to Michigan on Sunday, unpacking all my junkthings, setting up my room, making trips to Target, getting some-what settled, and saying bye to my parents all happened in one day.

One. Day. I tell ya..my family is really starting to get used to all of this moving-to-a-different-state-and-back-in-one-day business. I’m not sure if that’s something to brag about but I’m very blessed to have wonderful parents :). Not to mention our family-love for Starbucks helps fuel the trips :-P.

I made it passed the first week as a GA! It’s definitely going to take a longer-ish time to get adjusted but that’s to be expected, no? I’m taking one day at a time and planning for the best; thankfully I came from one OUTSTANDING fitness program with AMAZEBALLS people to another one with lots and lots of opportunities. Being at OU and working within Campus Recreation, it is much different from my work as a student director at NC State but in a good way; I’m anxious to get the semester started come September!

I spent the majority of the first week meeting the professional staff, attending staff meetings, learning the fitness equipment, navigating offices, and meeting the student staff that’s here for the summer (we don’t start fall semester doesn’t until after Labor day (yay!), so things are pretty chill around here). Since I’m the GA of group fitness, I want the next couple of weeks to be focused on learning the ins and outs of the program, the instructors, the rules and policies, and the equipment available before we start the fall schedule and students expect things from me! It’s really the perfect opportunity to get acclimated with the program before being the semester gets crazy..in a good way :-D.

 The first OIAJ at Oakland! In the mix:

  • the remaining cookie butter
  • oats
  • yogurt
  • almond milk
  • chia seeds

 Pre-made salads from Trader Joe’s! The meal plan I have on campus doesn’t start until September and since I’m close enough to Pitt that I can go home on the weekends before school starts, I’ve been relying on pre-made salads and easy to assemble lunches and dinners to feed me. Once the semester begins, I’ll be staying at school more and then I’ll finally stock-up on groceries!

Here’s a kick-butt workout I completed earlier in the week:

  • walking lunges, jump squats, elbow planks & glute extensions, sumo burpees. 20-16-10-6 reps, 1X through.
  • 10 T-push-ups, 20 mountain climbers, 30 floor jacks, 40 bicycles, 50s. plank. 2X through.
  • 10 v-sits, 20 plank knee-tucks, 20 russian twists, 20 back extensions. 2X through.

And for all of my FALL lovers out there..is this a sign?

14 Responses to “Hello Oakland University!”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin August 20, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    So exciting, glad you are settling in!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit August 22, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

      Thanks Alex! It’s still a work in progress but it’ll come eventually 🙂

  2. Alex @ Brain, Body, Because August 20, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    Ah, fall! Can’t wait! I bet it’ll be gorgeous up there in Michigan 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit August 22, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      Fall is gorge anywhere! Love when the trees drop their leaves and they change colors..to die!

  3. Welcome to Michigan! Enjoy the Fall weather before things get interesting and see you at MIRSA in October!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit August 22, 2012 at 12:50 pm #

      I’m already LOVING this weather! I enjoy walking to work sans breaking a sweat 🙂 See you soon; I’m super excited to network!

  4. Claire @ Live & Love to Eat August 21, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    Have you tried TJ’s Super Spinach salad? It’s my favorite! 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit August 22, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      I saw it at the store but decided on 2 others; I’ll have to try it next time! They’re so easy and convenient to pack. I like to rinse it out afterwards and reuse the container for homemade salads later in the week!

  5. Former Blogger August 26, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Hi there! I’m a former blogger and current Golden Grizzly. I just found your blog and wanted to welcome you to Michigan/OU! I hope that you enjoy your time here. Feel free to email me if you ever have any questions about the area 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit August 27, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

      Well hello! That’s great to hear you’re at OU, I’d love to meet in person! I’m extremely knew so everything is kind of a blur but I’m sure it’ll all make sense soon. Thanks for the welcome message 🙂

  6. Former Blogger August 27, 2012 at 11:56 am #

    Hi there! I tried to post this once but I think it didn’t go through – if it did, sorry for the doubles! Anyway, I’m a former blogger and current Golden Grizzly. I just wanted to welcome you to Michigan/OU. Feel free to email me if you have any questions about the area. Hope you enjoy this new chapter in your life 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Return of Body Pump « K.E.P.T. You Fit - October 5, 2012

    […] do you actually live?” because I did my undergrad in Raleigh at NCSU, then went straight to grad school in Rochester Hills at Oakland, all while traveling to and from Pittsburgh. Can you see the […]

  2. Byebye 2012 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 30, 2012

    […] to Rochester MI and starting all over […]

  3. Look Who’s Back, Back, Back | K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 9, 2013

    […] 3 weeks later, moved to Michigan […]

Speak your mind

