Rainy Day in the Burgh’

5 Aug

Well good afternoon all! As the title of this post says, it’s actually beyond a rainy day; maybe a downpour in the Burgh’ would be more appropriate!

We need it though; humid, hot summer days do a number on the grass (say’s my dad), women’s hair (says my mom), long-ish runs (says me), and not enough golfers (says Chase). Can anyone be pleased anymore?!

Like I’ve said before, when I’m home, my sole job is to cook. And that I do well! When I was living in Raleigh, I had one person to cook for, and if you look at recipes these days, many feed 4+. Yes I could alter the recipes to accommodate just me but sometimes it was nice to have leftovers (other times I’d get so sick of eating the same meal night after night, I’d vow to never make this again! That never lasted long). Another downside of cooking for one is it takes the gratification out of cooking; when you cook for others, they offer lots of “Oh My Goodness this is delicious”‘s, “WOW!”‘s, “This is the best things I’ve ever eaten”‘s, and/or “Don’t make this ever again”‘s (I accept all!). When the comments are positive, it makes me feel good that I’ve made my family and guests satisfied and I want to do it more and more. But contrary to popular belief 😉 I can’t be that good every time, so even the not-s0-nice comments are appreciated.

 Spinach salad with strawberries, garbanzo’s, feta, avocado, sunflower seeds tossed in balsamic vinaigrette!

Cooking for my family, however, is always something new night after night. Four hungry bellies are more fun to experiment with recipes compared to one! Some of the meals I cooked this past week included:

  • margherita pizza
  • chicken oscar
  • orange roughy in an orange reduction
  • “fried” chicken tender salad
  • quesadillas
  • spinach salad

I have the go-ahead to move into my on-campus housing at Oakland U this coming Sunday! I even have a roommate :). We haven’t virtually met yet but I’m excited to being in the company of another student again. This week I’ll work on unpacking and repacking so I’m all ready for Sunday. And that’d be correct, I haven’t unpacked from moving back to Pittsburgh from Raleigh. 2 weeks ago.

I had the option of moving in on Friday but wanted to attend the Burgh’ Bloggers event on Saturday!

I know some of them virtually but I’m even more excited to meet them personally! See you Saturday ladies!

I’m leaving you with things I’ve been up to in pictures 🙂

10 Responses to “Rainy Day in the Burgh’”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin August 5, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    uh the clifford picture is awesome. I miss my family and I love cooking for them to. my favorite parts of going home for sure.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit August 7, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

      Haha my mom works at Barnes & Noble and they always need someone to wear the costumes for story time-I’m always the one!

  2. Alex @ Brain, Body, Because August 6, 2012 at 1:46 pm #

    Oh wow, I totally dressed up as Clifford for the Three Rivers Arts Festival a few years ago. Little kids FREAKED. It was awesome.

  3. Life After Swimming August 6, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    I am SO excited to meet you on Saturday!!! 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit August 7, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

      Woot Woot!! Can’t wait! It’ll be a fabulous time meeting everyone :).

  4. FitNjess August 10, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    Love your hair cut! so totally cute!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit August 11, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

      Thank ya! Always looking for a new do to start my next journey! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pilates Pittsburgh & A Giveaway! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - September 17, 2012

    […] Michigan in early August, I attended an event that I just had to go to with a couple of lovely Burgh bloggers! Claire, Nikki, Melissa, Angela, Gabby, Alex, and I had to opportunity to take a free […]

  2. Pasta and Peas Please! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 30, 2012

    […] I was fortunate enough to get both Christmas Eve AND the day after Christmas off of work! More time home is always better than one night […]

Speak your mind

