Greetings From My Current Home!

26 Jul

I moved back to Pittsburgh last Friday and am thrilled to be able to take a couple of weeks off before heading to Michigan! My dad, mom, brother, and Jagr drove 8 hours to Raleigh, packed my stuff up, and headed back up north for a longer-ish (11 hour) trip. It was 3 hours longer because we stopped for dinner at a quaint sandwich shop in Fayetteville, WV. It was well worth it; the sandwiches were hand-crafted using local ingredients and unique combo’s that we never would have thought to put together! I had a turkey, peach jam, carmelized onion, and blue cheese spread sammy on a freshly-baked French baguette..mouth-watering good.

Saturday and Sunday were spent relaxing with my family; we’re reunited and it feels SO good! I haven’t been home in such a long time and I’m always missing family gatherings, dinners, and random activities that are done on weekends. For instance, my dad and I are HUGE car fanatics (I like to shop, he likes what the actual car does) and it just so happens that the Pittsburgh Vintage Grand Prix was happening in Schenley Park! It’s a car show that showcases both vintage and current car styles and raises funds

“to help provide residential care, treatment, and support for developmentally disabled individuals in the Pittsburgh area” (source)

Although hot, it was a great way to spend the day and even got me thinking about Lola #2 ;).

Unfortunately, my parents do this thing called work and the 24/7 bonding time was over Monday morning. But that’s okay- I’m one of those Type-A individuals that can keep myself busy all by my lonesome.

Here’s what I’ve been up to: in pictures!

  • added onto my family’s gym membership. first membership ever! 
  • went to Bartram House bakery for coffee. every morning. *if you’re in the Wexford or McMurray area-you must stop in!
  • attracted construction workers attentions with my attractive get-up while walking Jagr 
  • eating delicious food. daily. that I don’t buy! *when I’m home, my job is to prepare dinner for my parents. I absolutely love my job 🙂
  • enjoying the amazing weather! cool enough to sit outside in the mornings and evenings. I went for a run in 58degree weather and my hands were actually numb-y post-run.
  • am baking again  when I lived in Raleigh, I didn’t bake as much since I’d be the only one eating it. now, since I’m with 3 other sweet-mouthedteethed, dessert every night people, I can bake again and not feel guilty about it going to waste..or me eating it all (whichever comes first 🙂 )

I received an email from Oakland U about moving in and the teaching schedule for the fall! It looks like I’ll be heading (more) north on the weekend of August 10! I’m teaching 4 new-to-me classes in the fall;

Core and More, Cycle, BLAST, and Abs, Glutes, and Thighs. The wheels in my exercisebrary-brain are churning already; I’m hoping Oakland U. participants will like what I bring!

I have lots more to babble about but I’ll save that for the next post; I don’t want to spoil all of the fun!

12 Responses to “Greetings From My Current Home!”

  1. Michelle July 26, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Yay for Pittsburgh! My work is relocating to Wexford in a few weeks. I’m going to have to check out that coffee place!

  2. Life After Swimming July 27, 2012 at 1:29 am #

    Loveee PIttsburgh!! 🙂 And I kind of love that your dogs name is Jagr! Hockey for the win 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit July 27, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      Haha it’s the most appropriate name for a hockey-addicted family!!

  3. Ando July 27, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    Hi there! I love your blog! Especially the workout section! Keeps me motivated! Thanks mama!!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit July 30, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

      Thank you! I’ve been slacking in the workouts section but don’t fret- there will be plenty more to post soon! Life seems to be getting in the way ;). Please stop back!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rainy Day in the Burgh’ « K.E.P.T. You Fit - August 5, 2012

    […] I’ve said before, when I’m home, my sole job is to cook. And that I do well! When I was living in Raleigh, I […]

  2. Return of Body Pump « K.E.P.T. You Fit - October 5, 2012

    […] teaching Abs, Glutes, and Thighs (which was an amazing class BTW! Participants are always full of energy […]

  3. Strength Circuits « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 7, 2012

    […] This way of working out can work with cardio exercises too; performing back to back bursts of cardio exercises takes little to no room, equipment, and can be done in under 10-15-20 minutes; perfect for travelers! […]

  4. Pasta and Peas Please! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 30, 2012

    […] place. We had ham, potatoes, roasted carrots, rolls, and salad for dinner. A cheesecake platter and Bartram House Bakery carrot cake was for dessert! Seriously. If you live near one, I highly recommend trying this cake! […]

  5. Look Who’s Back, Back, Back | K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 9, 2013

    […] moved from North Carolina […]

  6. UPMC Health Plan Pittsburgh Half Marathon | K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 18, 2013

    […] was all consumed. Saturday started early with my mother and I taking a 75 minute yoga class at the Wexford Athletic Club. It was a beginners class and stretched out everything that I needed to be stretched out; it was […]

Speak your mind

