Day 42

18 Jul

It’s sad when it gets to this point:

  • wake up at 6:15am
  • pack-up my kitchen
  • eat breakfast and pack my lunch/snacks for the day
  • out the door by 7:30am

And why you may ask? It’s nothing more than I.Don’t.Have.Cable.Or.Internet. I wouldn’t say I’m dependent on technology, but I’m a routine kinda girl; a typical day for me goes:

  • in the morning, wake up, shower, turn the morning news/GMA on while I beautify myself
  • watch the news/GMA as I prepare lunch and snacks, turn my laptop on to check emails and blogs
  • make breakfast, continue blog reading and facebooking
  • in the evening, I always watch E News because I simply need to know what important and life-changing things are going on in the world 😉
  • watch various shows; Monday’s-Diners, Drive-ins, & Dives (new episodes!) and the Bachelorette (guilty pleasure); Tuesday’s-Teen Mom (if I can stay up); Wednesday’s, Thursday’s, Friday’s are whatever catches my attention (Sex & The City never disappoints); Saturday’s and Sunday’s are random too with the exception of Extreme Makeover Weight Loss Edition.

So you see, not having cable or internet really puts a damper on my sched. I will be okay though, I know you’re so concerned :-P.

Body Sculpt & Balance went very well last night! I had 6 regulars so I tried to keep the workout challenging yet doable, focusing on balance and core stability as much as I could.

**Fitness instructors– do you ever feel when the class you’re teaching has a certain name (i.e. body sculpt and balance, back to core, guts and butts), you don’t want to teach to that format? I always struggle with this! I think I put too much pressure on making the exercises coincide with the name of the class that it becomes a daunting task rather than something I enjoy. I love to create new workouts and never do the same workout twice (may be similar but something’s changed) but when I need tailor the exercises to incorporate a component (i.e. balance, a BOSU, resistance bands), it becomes a duty. Classes like Total Body Sculpt, Group Strength, Boot Camp, etc. are always fun to teach because you’re not limited in what you can/cannot use. Maybe it’s just this particular environment I’m in with the internship, there are so many rules pertaining to each class that it almost takes the enjoyment out of it.

Back to BS&B, I did 2 exercises, back to back, three times through for the entire 60-minutes. Time flew!

  • reverse lunges into a front kick/ alternating biceps curls
  • stationary lunges into a rotating lateral raise/ triceps kickbacks
  • squats with knee lifts/ shoulder presses
  • dead lifts (single-leg)/ bent-over rows
  • inchworm push-ups/ plie squats with calf raises
  • chest flies/ glute bridge
  • side leg lifts/ inner thigh lifts
  • back extensions/ crunches

Yoga Challenge is my WOD! Off to plan my cycling class!


Yes I’m aware I spelled Linkin Park wrong.

6 Responses to “Day 42”

  1. Kelly @leafynotbeefy July 18, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

    Haha, I know, we really are so dependent on technology! I love Extreme Makeover Weight Loss Edition!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit July 19, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

      I like to watch it but as a personal trainer, I don’t think some of the things he does with the clients is safe, but they lose the weight so they must be doing something right! It makes for good TV!

  2. Alex @ therunwithin July 18, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    hey girl i feel ya, I didn’t have cable or internet for a month and it threw off my schedule big time. I lived in public libraries and coffee shops.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit July 19, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

      It’s such a pain! I may have to do what you did and head to Starbucks and Barnes & Noble, luckily I only have 1 more day of it! Which is probs a good thing since my bank account would seriously suffer; how can you not buy coffee or food at those places!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 43 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 19, 2012

    […] I got into work, I made sure my NEW playlist worked; I got home last night to transfer all of my songs onto my iPod and realized the CD that I […]

  2. (Finally) Day 44! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 20, 2012

    […] with (very bitter), long days of shadowing office hours and fitness classes (sweet),  being on a schedule (bitter), impacting participants lives in a positive way through instructing and training […]

Speak your mind

