Day 34

6 Jul

 ↑ This is what happens after a glorious 3.5 mile plyo-interval run ↓

I should probably think of a new way to wear my hair, especially if I’m jumping and running around like a crazy person at 6am! Any suggestions from my fellow long-haired exercisers? I would love to be gifted enough to braid my hair but..it never looks attractive.

The run: Lake Johnson has mile-markers every 1/4 mile around the trail so you can track your distance if you don’t use Nike+ or a Garmin. I got to thinking, how can I use this to my advantage? It’s too hot to run longer than 30 minutes and I wanted to get some lower body plyometrics in before I taught Body Sculpt. Aha! At every marker, complete 20-ish reps of plyo exercises, then continue running. Here’s how the workout looked (I started at the 1 mile marker):

  1. 1 mile= squat jumps
  2. 1.25 miles= jump-switch lunges
  3. 1.5 miles= plie squat jumps
  4. 1.75 miles= right jump lunges, left jump lunges
  5. 2 miles= star jumps
  6. 2.25 miles= mountain climbers
  7. 2.5 miles= speed skaters
  8. 2.75 miles= plank jacks
  9. 3 miles= 2-pulse squats, 180 jump, 2-pulse squats
  10. 3.25 miles= 10 burpees
  11. 3.5 miles= 10 burpees
  12. .25 mile= squat jumps
  13. .5 mile= jump-switch lunges
  14. .75 mile= plank jacks

Breakfast quickly followed; a first for me, OIAJ! I finally, and sadly, ate the cookie butter down to just the right amount so I can use the jar and put the oats, yogurt, almond milk, and vanilla extract in for the highly acclaimed-bloggers’ breakfast:

I may have overfilled it a tad, but the more the merrier 🙂 That was a lip-smacker. Mhm..

I taught Body Sculpt today, nothing cray-cray. Great class though!

Have a happy Friday and happier weekend!

6 Responses to “Day 34”

  1. Kailey July 7, 2012 at 11:10 pm #

    SO jealous of your OAIJ because that cookie butter is crazy addicting 😀

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit July 8, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      SO addicting! It’s seriously like crack, I cannot get enough of it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 34 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 9, 2012

    […] ran this morning; a little 4-miler around Lake Johnson to start the week off on a strong notefoot! I’m really ready for this steamy-hot weather to […]

  2. Week 8 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 11, 2012

    […] Friday […]

  3. Day 40 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 16, 2012

    […] planned to run this morning, but decided to postpone it til later for two reasons: 1. it was still dark at 5:30am […]

  4. Last Minute Gifts for Gym Rats « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 20, 2012

    […] and fun gift to give to someone with long hair! I’m always scrambling around to find hairties; this ensures I know exactly where I can find […]

Speak your mind

