Day 30

29 Jun

Anybody else look like this when Friday comes around?

Last night was a fabulous girls night; sushi and drinks than out for some more!  We’ve been going out in Raleigh for 2 years now and have yet to ride on a Rickshaw bike (I mean, who wouldn’t want to ride in a carriage while someone pulls you across town?) Intrigued, we flagged one down and cruised the streets of Raleigh  behind Chris Daughtry! No not the singer..It was actually a lot of fun and safe and I HIGHLY recommend you try it!

I rolled over this morning and immediately felt my abs..oh, DOMS..wouldn’t change that feeling though! Sometimes after an ab workout (or any workout rather), I think I’m going to be much more sore than I end up being and get slightly disappointed, which leads me to think: Is muscle soreness always a sign of a good workout?

The idea behind weight training is it’s making microscopic tears in the muscles, causing them to break down, rebuild, and recover in a stronger, more dense way. Feeling sore a couple of days after is normal when you start a new workout routine or supplement a new exercise in, etc. The common misconception here is that if you’re not sore after every workout, it wasn’t a quality workout, which can lead you to think a lack of soreness means less muscle growth, strength, and improvement-right? In actuality, soreness isn’t a good sign of muscle hypertrophy; the causes of DOMS are:

  1. damage to the connective tissues that surround the muscles and
  2. damage to the actual muscle

As if these weren’t achy enough, inflammation accompanies these damages and that’s the stiffness you feel the 24-48 hours after exercise. While it’s true you’re strengthening the connective tissues and ligaments around the muscles so that they can handle more weight, volume, and intensity going forward, you’re not “getting bigger”. Muscle growth occurs when the rate of muscle protein synthesis is greater than the rate of muscle protein breakdown which takes several weeks or months.

Yoga Flow and Step were the WOD! LOVED the yoga flow class. It was exactly what I expect; flowing from pose to pose and using our breath to transition. Step was awesome too but should have been called “Hot Step” thanks to the insane temperature outside!

I ate-let me rephrase-my chin ate the juiciest peach today; it was so good but left my hands and face all sticky..

Have a relaxing and cool weekend 🙂

8 Responses to “Day 30”

  1. Kailey July 1, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    that cat picture cracked me up haha. I hate to say it, but DOMS was one of the reason I stopped leg workouts – my runs suffered majorly for about 2 days

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit July 1, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

      I should watch when I do leg workouts and then want to run because I feel the same way! I just don’t have the stamina when I am sore after. Foam rolling helps!!

  2. fitnessgall July 1, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Ah i love girlsnight!
    I had a girlsnight of sorts with my mum on friday – that hardly ever happens, so that was great!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit July 1, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

      I think every girl needs to have a girls night every so often! If I was closer to my mom, she’d be the perfect friend for a girls night-I’m glad you got to enjoy one with yours!

  3. katalysthealthat July 2, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Back in the day I used to think DOMS was necessary in order to improve my body, but now I know how untrue that is!! Dont get me wrong, I love knowing I worked hard, but sometimes I like to work hard and be able to walk the next day without pain!! 😉

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit July 3, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

      Ohh girl me too! I love being sore but sometimes it’s just too much for my liking. That’s when I foam roll and that’s a love/hate relationship! Thanks for stopping by!!

  4. Life After Swimming July 2, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

    That looks like so much fun! I have kind of always wanted to ride in one of those!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 43 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 19, 2012

    […] butter. The peach was actually perfect; not too soft that as I bit into the pieces I had juice running down my chin but hard enough to be edible..did I confuse […]

Speak your mind

