Day 29

28 Jun

Traffic can make a good day go bad-especially when the accident isn’t even on YOUR side of the road! Damnrn rubberneckers! Good thing I had this  and saw this  on my Pinterest board when I logged on this morning :).

Although I wasn’t planning on riding a stationary bicycle, I did plan a cycling class that I’m teaching on July 19, Cycle & Stretch (I’ve said the exact date because it’s a GOAL of mine; always a work in progress and motivation to perfect it-keep me accountable!). 45-minutes of cycling and 15-minutes of stretching is the ideal cycling class for me because I’m not (actually never) excited about taking a cycling class (I feel violated when I come off the saddle) and it’s completely out of my comfort zone. I hope you’ve noticed-I’ve been stepping out of my comfort zone a lot lately; step I.T., cycling, yoga, Pilates, and aquatics are all formats that I’m conversant of and participate in regularly, but teaching them is a whole new ball game. In this internship experience, it’s okay for me to mess up; using the wrong terminology in step class, sprinting to a song that’s more fitted for a climb, wearing a two-piece to a pool plyometrics class..all are “oopsies” that I’ll take and learn from so that they don’t happen again. I want no regrets, no “I wish I tried that”, no if only’s in regards to this internship; I’m learning, growing, and evolving and I challenge you to do the same with your respective careers! Will you try? 

I wanted to do a homemade strength workout before a training session; as much as I like taking the classes here, the sculpting classes tend to do the same thing (not complaining though!) and I’m not feeling challenged as much. There’s nothing that a little digging through my exercisebrary can’t fix! The workout went a little like this:

  • side squats and reverse lunges (combo of the two)
  • up, up, down, down push-ups and push-ups with a knee tuck on the stability ball
  • BOSU bent-over rows
  • dead lifts and biceps curls
  • step downs with a knee lift and anterior raises
  • BOSU step ups with overhead presses
  • triceps kickbacks and glute extensions
  • single-leg bridges

In and out in an hour!

Girls night is back and the plan is sushi and a concert series! Have a great night!

5 Responses to “Day 29”

  1. Kailey June 28, 2012 at 9:34 pm #

    thats really nice that the stretching is included in the class – I often times find I forget to stretch after my runs which is not good at all

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 32 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 5, 2012

    […] on my cycling playlist! Any songs you prefer to sprint, climb a hill, up & downs, or steady state-let me […]

  2. Day 38 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 13, 2012

    […] was extremely busy; I had a client at State’s gym, sat in pointless traffic, ran through another ”mock” wellness profile, worked on the internship portfolio, […]

  3. Day 40 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 16, 2012

    […] Thursday-teach Cycle! […]

  4. (Finally) Day 44! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 20, 2012

    […] bitter-sweet; no more 40 traffic when the threat of a mistingrain arises (sweet), staff and training meetings are a thing of the […]

Speak your mind

