Day 26

25 Jun

Happy Monday all! This past weekend was tons of fun! It was the first weekend in Raleigh for quite some time so lots of catching up with friends and hitting downtown :).

For those of you who were concerned (!), I finally found the perfect way to make a cup of coffee! I used to use sugar-free syrup and milk but really wanted to ween myself off of artificial sweeteners. It seems I could never get the right ratio of sweetener:milk:coffee, I even tried coffee with almond milk and wasn’t a fan. The solution? Basic french vanilla creamer. I also made my family’s bean salad over the weekend; it’ll last me at least 2 weeks which I’m completely fine with :-P.

A couple of runs happened but not long ones at all-it’s SO hot and humid. It’s really not safe to run in this kind of heat and personally not-enjoyable! Even the mornings and evenings are tough. To make the runs a complete workout, I popped in Tony Horton’s Ab Ripper DVD after-ouchie…

Early morning client at State’s gym then to the office!

Lunch: turkey, humus, cuckes, and spicy mustard on fresh whole wheat bread with sweet potato chips and string cheese. This bread from Kroger is amazing! My friend Sarah introduced me to it and I think I love her that much more because of it! 

This week in workouts:

  • Monday: Step and 15-minutes of Plyometrics
  • Tuesday: teaching Body Sculpt & Stretch, Pilates or On the Ball
  • Wednesday: teaching Back 2 Core & Stretch
  • Thursday: Homemade workout!
  • Friday: Step

Today is solely dedicated to blood pressure testing. I’ve taken blood pressures before, but it was automatic and did the hard part for me; at the tap of the enter button, it squeezed, listened, and recorded the clients’ blood pressure without me having to concentrate too hard. I loved it! But at my internship, it’s all manual and I need to learn how to listen for both the systolic (top number) and diastolic (bottom number) beats in order to participate in the wellness program. That being said- stethoscope in hand (a pink one!) and I’m off!

Gigi’s cupcakes have been on my mind for too long and tonight I’ll be indulging in one 🙂

6 Responses to “Day 26”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin June 25, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    Sounds like some fun info you are learning! great job of getting of the sweeteners, I have been doing the same and my body is thanking me hardcore.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 25, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

      Good for you too! I don’t have as many tummy troubles as I did when I would eat Splenda-ugh! How has your diet changed?

  2. Kailey June 25, 2012 at 10:54 pm #

    The heat definately does not make running fun. I too find it a little dangerous!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 25, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

      Me too and I constantly see people pass out because of it! No good :/. Do you prefer mornings or nights?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 28 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 27, 2012

    […] does make perfectionimprovement! I’m completing a mock-wellness profile today and have been borrowing peoples arms for the past two […]

  2. Tassimo Skinny Cappucinno « K.E.P.T. You Fit - August 11, 2012

    […] where my mother’s Tassimo brewer comes into play. Now you know I’m extremely picky about my coffee; the way it’s made, temperature, sweetness, flavorings, and especially the […]

Speak your mind

