Day 24

21 Jun

The third picture is how I felt and looked after my run this morning:

It’s SO hot-everywhere! Are you planning to exercise outside? Below is a chart that shows what heat indexes are safe to exercise in:

Based on your location,  find the relative humidity percentage and the current temperature on the chart (i.e. Raleigh’s humidity % is 45% and temperature is currently 95*-heat index says it feels like it’s ~102 degrees outside); if your results fall in the yellow, orange, or red areas, you run the risk of a heat-related injury.

According to ACE, a “heat-related injury results when the demand of the environment exceeds the capabilities of the body’s regulatory mechanisms.” There are 3 stages that occur, each getting progressively worse if not treated properly and in a timely manner:

  1. heat cramps- excessive sweating causes water and salt loss which leads to muscle cramping. dehydration, fatigue, overheating, and electrolyte imbalances can cause these cramps, usually in the legs and abdomen areas. drinking lots of water before, during, and after exercise can help the on-set of heat cramps.
  2. heat exhaustion- more severe, it’s caused by a decrease in blood volume, water, and/or electrolyte depletion from sweating. the muscles and brain require greater blood flow, and at the same time, the skin needs blood flow to radiate heat to form sweat. faintness, fatigue, paleness, and nausea are some signs of heat exhaustion; replenishment of fluids and electrolytes and rest in a cool environment are best for treatment.
  3. heat stroke- a medical emergency, all mechanisms for cooling have failed and severe elevation of the body temperature occurs. the hypothalamus (center for hormone control) loses control and body temperature rises to levels that cause damage throughout the body. irritability, poor judgement, confusion, an unsteady gait, and a glassy stare are symptoms of a heat stroke. once these symptoms are recognized, immediate treatment is recommended; allow the skin exposure to cool air, cool towels and ice should be placed on the skin, and availability of water should be close by. once in the care of professionals, further treatment (if needed) can take place.

Here are some ways to prevent a heat-related injury:

  • acclimatization. the body’s adaptation to heat stress and increased capacity to workout in high temperatures and humidity. it’s recommended to reduce the workout duration by 50% on the first day; most people acclimate in 4-10 days of exposure as long as fluid and electrolyte replacement is appropriate!
  • fluid replacement. water is the most important fluid to drink when preventing heat-related injuries; it maintains homeostasis throughout the body. experts recommend consuming fluids in 3-10 ounces every 10-20 minutes and rehydration is extremely beneficial too.

 I met with the group fitness coordinator to talk about my Step I.T. class yesterday. Here are some of the suggestions she gave me:

  • make sure each combo follows the 32 count
  • transition each block with the first move of the next block
  • try to use different step moves in each block (this can confuse the participants if we did a corner knee the first time through, then a corner glute the second time through)
  • start with the basic move (knees corner to corner) and as the participants are getting used to that, show them a more advanced option (knee, walk, walk, knee)

Most of the instructors took Step I.T. with me and all agreed they were very satisfied with the turnout! They provided me with constructive criticism to make my next class much better but told me this is a learning experience and to just have fun and keep the participants moving. I can do that :-P; the instructors I’m surrounded by are some of the most talented I’ve seen in person so I’m in the right place!

Teaching Body Sculpt tonight! (review tomorrow).

Congrats to Evgeni Malkin for winning the NHL Hart Trophy last night at the NHL Awards ceremony in Las Vegas, NV!  (source) The Hart Trophy represents the NHL’s most valuable player and it couldn’t have gone to a more-deserved player than “Geno”!

9 Responses to “Day 24”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin June 21, 2012 at 7:36 pm #

    Very good post especially given the weather, I have been running at 6 am to at least sort of beat the heat. Way better than any later run.

  2. Sable Weisman (@SquatLikeALady) June 22, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    AWESOME post!!! So informative!!! I never knew your body would acclimate – guess it’s because I’m not really one for outdoor exercise =)

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 24, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

      Thanks Sable! It’s SO hot everywhere so I don’t recommend TRYING to like outdoor exercise in these conditions!!

  3. Life After Swimming June 22, 2012 at 2:05 am #

    I actually celebrated and danced about my apt after Geno won!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 25 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 22, 2012

    […] Body Sculpt went well last night! I formatted the class as a basic toning workout: […]

  2. Day 26 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 25, 2012

    […] couple of runs happened but not long ones at all-it’s SO hot and humid. It’s really not safe to run in this kind of heat and personally not-enjoyable! […]

  3. Day 30 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 29, 2012

    […] to pose and using our breath to transition. Step was awesome too but should have been called “Hot Step” thanks to the insane temperature […]

  4. Day 33 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 6, 2012

    […] use Nike+ or a Garmin. I got to thinking, how can I use this to my advantage? It’s too hot to run longer than 30 minutes and I wanted to get some lower body plyometrics in before I taught […]

  5. Day 41 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 18, 2012

    […] hoo-rah! It was a short 20-minute, 3-combo routine that I wanted to perform to see if I’ve improved since Step I.T. I think it’s safe to say that I’ve become one with the Step […]

Speak your mind

