Day 23

20 Jun

Today’s the day-Step I.T. with yours truly! Lots of steppin’ has been happening in my office; we shall name the step Bruiser..he’s taken quite the beating 😉

The humidity is not in anybody’s hairs favor today; it’s going to be in the high-90’s! If you have side bangs or your hair is angled in the front, a cute and easy way to wear your hair while exercising is with a clip to the side:

Push it up to add a little poof and you’re set!

This morning was practice, practice, practice; I rehearsed in the studio with the mic and the music playing as if I were talking to the participants. Hearing my choice of words out loud definitely helped where I needed to add or take out a step, change a transition, or think of a different way of saying something. If you’re learning to teach a new format, I highly recommend this way of practicing! When I practiced in my office and repeated the words in my head, everything worked because I knew what I was talking about. Participants don’t. Rehearsing the class as if it were the “real deal” only helped make the class successful.

Step I.T. went well! It being my first time teaching Step, mistakes were a no-brainer. I need to practice transitioning from right and left sides, remembering the steps (!), and cueing in time. Most importantly, I kept the class stepping, did even repetitions on each side, reiterated safety cues and breathing, and had fun! I’m in no way an expert stepper but am pleased with the outcome of my first Step I.T. class; the participants approached me afterwards and said they thoroughly enjoyed the class and it was a great workout-music to my ears! One thing to remember-when the fans are on high, papers will not stay in one place! I taped the workout in front of me on the mirror before I turned the fans up; needless to say we held basic for quite a while while I re-taped the papers down 🙂 rookie mistake..

Another fave purchase from Trader Joes! Kettle Corn in individual packages, perfect combo of sweet and salty. I don’t like popcorn but put kettle corn around me and you won’t stand a chance at getting some! Turkey, humus, tomato sandwich with strawberry Greek yogurt.

A part of my internship experience I wanted to observe and learn is the wellness profiles that the company does for employees. It’s a two-fer; one part is the fitness assessment, the other part is the lifestyle assessment. I’ve done fitness assessments before, but this protocol is different. They take the client’s blood pressure seated, standing, and while they’re exercising on the treadmill-all manually. I can’t even hear the systolic heartbeat in dead silence let alone while they’re running on a treadmill! So today was all blood pressure practice; I plan on going around to each persons’ desk and taking their BP tomorrow-be ready!

Have a cool first day of summer!

7 Responses to “Day 23”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin June 20, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    it is so humid here too!

  2. Kailey June 20, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    It is wicked hot here too – can’t wait for the cool down to come 🙂
    Love the Trader Joe’s Kettle Corn too!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 21, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

      I think it’s hot and humid EVERYWHERE! Awful when you’re running-it feels like you’re breathing through a wool blanket, ugh! Isn’t the kettle corn delicious? Perfect as a late night snack!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 24 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 21, 2012

    […] met with the group fitness coordinator to talk about my Step I.T. class yesterday. Here are some of the suggestions she gave […]

  2. Day 29 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 28, 2012

    […] a cycling class (I feel violated when I come off the saddle) and it’s completely out of my comfort zone. I hope you’ve noticed-I’ve been stepping out of my comfort zone a lot lately; step […]

  3. Day 41 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 18, 2012

    […] was a short 20-minute, 3-combo routine that I wanted to perform to see if I’ve improved since Step I.T. I think it’s safe to say that I’ve become one with the Step […]

Speak your mind

