Pittsburgh Vacation and Father’s Day

19 Jun

Hey there! It’s been a couple of days since I last posted; a trip to Pittsburgh will do that to ya! I was fortunate enough to take a couple of days off from the internship to spend Father’s day with this guy ↓

(The cake was a plus 😉 )

On Sunday, we went to my Aunt’s house for a cook-out in the afternoon; steaks, fries, salad, and more cake was devoured. The rest of the day was spent relaxing and watching TV..perfect father’s day in my book!

While at home, I took many Les Mills classes at the gym my parents belong to (GREAT gym BTW! Oxford Athletic Club for you Pittsburghers’ out there!). Body Combat and Body Pump were the two main classes (that’s all they offered) and I was slightly disappointed. The instructor who taught the first Combat class was, with all-due respect, bad. His cues were late, he did 10X more on the right side than the left (the infamous “we just did that” was used one time too many), and he was monotone the entire class. If you’re being given the workouts (choreography, music, safety cues, etc.) you should have it MEMORIZED and down-pat! A mistake here and there is fine but every track? C’mon. If I didn’t know some of the moves, hadn’t taken the class before, and wasn’t an instructor already, I’d be P.O.-ed that my workout wasn’t 100%! The second Combat class was MUCH better; she knew her stuff, was motivating, and challenged us to put 110% in..my kinda style! Pump was pretty standard; I feel like that’s the easiest format to memorize if you can follow the 8-count and have rhythm. One thing I don’t like about Les Mills is that they pack SO much choreography in 1 track that the instructor scrambles to instruct the exercise, get in position, cue it, and look around to make sure the participants are doing it safely. For instance: during a triceps track, we went from push-ups to kickbacks to overhead extensions back to kickbacks back to push-ups with maybe a count in between each transition. The instructor couldn’t even get in all the reps let alone instruct and cue the exercise! How are the participants, of all levels, going to get the most out of the exercise, safely?! Definitely not the instructors fault, just something I’ve noticed in every release. The music is always awesome though!

Pictures from home!

 

Back on the grind! 4 weeks left in Raleigh..

6 Responses to “Pittsburgh Vacation and Father’s Day”

  1. Life After Swimming June 20, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    That class sounds really cool! Where is Oxford?!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 21, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      It’s in Wexford! Great place to exercise, relax, and socialize-you should look into it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 31 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 3, 2012

    […] at 5pm today for the holiday and that makes me happy! I plan on going to Fitness Connection to take Body Attack; I went with my friend over the weekend and loved the energy of the class! I thought it […]

  2. I am a Healthy Living Blogger. « K.E.P.T. You Fit - August 8, 2012

    […] from my routines, but am taking a minor break from it; add in the fact that I’ve been doing Body Pump and Get Ripped for going on 6 years now. This also will give me new goal (to gain back the […]

  3. Heyo-I’m A PiYo Instructor « K.E.P.T. You Fit - September 2, 2012

    […] basic anatomy lesson would have been beneficial. I think that’s the biggest downfall of these pre-choreographed certifications; the instructor may or may not have an exercise-type degree and/or background so […]

  4. Byebye 2012 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 30, 2012

    […] accepting stress, balance, and rest days. […]

Speak your mind

