Day 21

12 Jun

Thank you Pinterest for your words of wisdom :). An early morning workout was the first to-do on my agenda today; I trained at 8am, so I wanted to push myself and get the weights workout done in an hour-check!

Quick overnight oats with cookie butter for breakfast before I trained; it’s the most portable breakfast I know!  I stole borrowed these tin cans from my parents that, I believe, are used for camping; they come in 5 different sizes with lids which make transporting breakfast, lunch, or dinner so easy. There’s really no excuse to not make your own meals!

I can’t believe it’s already half-way through my internship! My supervisor from NC State had his on-site visit this morning; where does the time go? I gave him a tour of the facility (kinda cool I was able to and knowledgeable enough to lead the tour!) then sat down and discussed everything from I’ve been doing and where I’m going next. I felt extremely blessed and grateful to have this internship and being able to have the freedom to pop into a workout class or shadow a trainer or work at my desk all day long. After hearing some of the other students’ internship experiences, I really have it good; I don’t get assigned biatch busy work (thank you!), I have a schedule but not a schedule at the same time, and I’m getting my toes wet in all areas of fitness; it’s so laid-back yet organized and professional and I enjoy working in this type of environment!

We talked about being a rounded individual and how students these days are so focused on one area that they’re actually limiting their chances of ever working in that specific area because they’re not getting other experiences in a variety of fields. It made me re-realize that, yes I love group fitness and personal training, but I both need and want to get a taste of wellness profiles, rehabilitation and injury, facilities, sports clubs, and on-site services that will make me a more qualified individual.

I swear I ate the last of the mayo-less chicken salad! Peanut butter-filled pretzels with a banana to go with. Strength training for runners and a staff meeting capped off the afternoon. I was supposed to meet with one of the Step instructors to go over Stepping for Dummies (kidding) but couldn’t find her; I guess I’ll have to resort to the high-quality Blu-Ray VHS video to teach me how to instruct Step aerobics!

 Black cherry Greek yogurt with slivered, toasted almonds as an afternoon snack :-P.

Can’t wait for this view tomorrow afternoon..

8 Responses to “Day 21”

  1. Athena @ Fitness & Feta June 13, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    I love the quote about running your day! 🙂

  2. Meg (A Dash of Meg) June 13, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    Mmmm I love greek yogurt topped with nuts!

  3. Kailey June 13, 2012 at 11:00 pm #

    glad to hear that you are enjoying your internship!!

  4. Life After Swimming June 14, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    Ahhh cookie butter in oats…yummm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pittsburgh Vacation and Father’s Day « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 19, 2012

    […] there! It’s been a couple of days since I last posted; a trip to Pittsburgh will do that to ya! I was fortunate enough to take a couple of days off from the internship to […]

Speak your mind

