Day 18

7 Jun

G-double O-D M-O-R-N-I-N-G!

3.5 mile run around Lake Johnson-check! OIAJContainer-check! Early morning client-check! 2 cups of coffee-check! I’m feeling like today is going to be very accomplishing!

When the yogurt container is near empty, I pour my oats right into it instead of dirtying a bowl..hence OIAC A dollop of cookie butter right smack in the center that’s waiting to be devoured. I wait until there’s no more oats left then eat the entire spoonful of cookie butter; a mouthful of cookie butter is a-okay by me :).

Once I put my things down in my office, I was on the go until lunchtime. I observed an equipment orientation-like session and a full PT session. The trainer I shadowed spotted exercises in a way I never thought of spotting before. For example, during a chest press, instead of hovering around the clients’ wrists to spot the weight going down, she stood to one side of the bench and positioned her arms like 2 bumpers, one in front and one behind the weight. I like this technique because a lot of clients’ I’ve trained seem to bring the weight higher above their chest (shoulders) when it’s supposed to be nipple line mid-chest; having those “bumpers” guide the clients’ arm down helps develop kinesthetic awareness during the exercise. Also, it’s not has uncomfortable for the client to have the trainer standing above him/her. Add that to my to-do list as a trainer!

Lunch was again eaten too fast-I just can’t seem to put food down when it’s so good! Mayo-less chicken salad sandwich with cuckes, peanut butter-filled pretzels, and a banana.

This was sitting on my desk after lunch. A VH-what? How in the world am I going to watch this? I think it’s awesome, don’t get me wrong, and I want to watch Introduction to the Step Training but I don’t know who has a tape player these days! Maybs I’ll ask my gramma 🙂

Have a fabulous Thursday!

5 Responses to “Day 18”

  1. Hilary June 8, 2012 at 2:27 am #

    What is in your chicken salad without the mayo? Greek yogurt? I hate mayooo..

    Ps….the “nipple line” is how i remember to keep my form doing chest presses! 😛

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 8, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      Plain, low-fat Greek yogurt; I promise you won’t notice a difference! I haven’t had chicken salad with mayo but the Greek yogurt is just as creamy and smooth but healthier! I hate that word nipple! But I find it helps clients understand where their hands should be so I suck it up :).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 21 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 12, 2012

    […] but couldn’t find her; I guess I’ll have to resort to the high-quality Blu-Ray VHS video to teach me how to instruct Step […]

  2. Day 27 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 26, 2012

    […] with intervals on the elliptical (30 seconds OFF-45 seconds ON). Breakfast followed in the form of OIAC-so easy to […]

  3. Day 33 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 6, 2012

    […] run: Lake Johnson has mile-markers every 1/4 mile around the trail so you can track your distance if you don’t […]

Speak your mind

