Day 17

6 Jun

Is Wednesday the day of rain? Such a gloomy drive to work, especially when there’s not an accident in sight yet blinking red lights are everywhere from people slamming on their breaks..okay, I’m done.

I finally went to Trader Joe’s after work yesterday! There’s some things I prefer to buy there then at a regular grocery store; fruit and veggies are cheaper without sacrificing quality, nuts are inexpensive, and the cheese selection is huge! I love the Shredded Mexican blend in my scrambled eggs and have missed its gooeyness so much that I believe that’s the reason I couldn’t sleep last night..I was anticipating breakfast this morning :). Other things I purchased:

  • multigrain bread. really hardy and stands up to chicken salad without becoming soggy
  • grilled chicken breast for chicken salad
  • celery
  • raw, toasted almonds
  • sweet potato crinkle chips. a.m.a.z.e.b.a.l.l.s.
  • peanut butter-filled pretzels
  • (2) pizza al pollo asado. a mexican-style pizza with a corn masa crust, grilled chicken, refried beans, jack cheese, and tomatillo salsa. the flavors complement each-other, a little spicy, and so tender you can cut it with a fork- for $1.99!

$34? A synonym of a bargain shopper.

Body Sculpt & Balance review: we used a stability ball, heavy and medium dumbbells, a thera-band, and a mat. Basic strength training exercises but with a balance challenge at some point during the move; for example: squats with a knee lift, upper body work on the stability ball, single-leg curls, and closing your eye (very challenging-I recommend closing one at a time first!) I really love basic body sculpting classes. Maybe it’s because that’s my speciality but the exercises you can do in a toning class are limitless and it’s a chance as an instructor to educate your participants.

Step I.T. was great as usual! Loved the combinations the instructor put together; they were self-reversing, so both right and left sides were balanced out. The strength moves were the usuals.

Yoga Challenge was a challenge for my delts! Holy moly. I guess it didn’t help that both the instructor and I took Step I.T. beforehand because down-dog was super tough to hold for a breathlong periods of time. This wasn’t necessarily my favorite yoga class since it didn’t flow from one pose to another rather, it was how hard can we make a series. It’s good to change it up though so I’ll be attending this sporadically, but stick to yoga flow or stretch.

Lunch!  Mayo-less chicken salad with an apple and sweet potato crinkles. I was upset that I ate it so fast :(.

I received my group fitness class schedule for June; 1 Interval Training class, 2 Body Sculpt classes, and 1 Step I.T.; super pumped about all of them. I need to practice step..help me!

The rest of the day I’ll be observing Cycle & Sculpt and Aqua Kickboxing. Have a great hump day!

P.S. 1st freelance post was published!

10 Responses to “Day 17”

  1. Kailey June 6, 2012 at 11:34 pm #

    I am always amazed by how much food I buy at trader joes for so little money 🙂 LOVE it! Those peanut butter filled pretzels are crazy good.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 7, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      I prefer the salted ones too-that sweet and savory combo is addicting!

  2. FitDre June 7, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Hey Katie, good post…where us this Yoga Challenge at now? I enjoy a good challenge often and may need to pay this class a visit. Btw, TRADERS also has THE BEST flowers around and last a while.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 7, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

      I agree! Trader Joe’s is just amazing hands down! The Yoga challenge is a class that’s offered at my internship.

  3. Gillian June 7, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Body sculpting sounds awesome! I did my first ‘sexy sculpt’ class recently and loved it! Always looking for new ways to get stronger!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 7, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      That sounds exciting! What kinds of exercises are done in a sexy sculpt class? I may have to try one out!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 23 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 20, 2012

    […] fave purchase from Trader Joes! Kettle Corn in individual packages, perfect combo of sweet and salty. I don’t like popcorn […]

  2. Day 43 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 19, 2012

    […] Cycle & Stretch=complete! If you follow me on Instagram (keptyoufit), you’ve known that I’ve been planning this class forever with the numerous pictures of my playlists and what not..well this morning was show time! Up-and-adam at 5:15am to prepare breakfast and make a measly cup of coffee to perk me up- I was on the road by 5:45am. […]

  3. Hello Oakland University! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - August 20, 2012

    […] salads from Trader Joe’s! The meal plan I have on campus doesn’t start until September and since I’m close […]

  4. 250 Reps..and some « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 6, 2012

    […] day after hump […]

Speak your mind

