Day 16

5 Jun

A top-secret event is happening on campus today; you better believe I’m going to visit the building I have no business being in just to try to make a cameo :-P.

Back to more important things. Early morning at State’s gym to train then straight to work. Overnight oats with cookie butter and frozen strawberries to fuel me! I need to go to the grocery store ASAP..

Cycling was great! Ever heard of Florence + The Machine? The instructor played a lot of their songs and I felt it was the perfect match; hills were paired with intense songs that built-up as we added resistance. Sprints were high-tempo, fast-paced songs that made my legs explode with speed! Definitely more my style of cycling than the first 60-minute class I took. One of the songs we climbed a steep hill too 

Say hello to your newest fitness instructor here at the RFC! My demo went well yesterday and they’ll put me on the schedule for June-exciting! I also demoed my very, very basic step routine; step is a format that’s completely new to me to teach so there’s no doubt I need more time practicing! Good thing I’m in the right place :).

My supervisor took me out to lunch at one of the more upscale cafe’s on campus. Fresh sushi bar with a choice of 6 rolls, a fresh salad bar with all of the fixings, a grill station, a brick-oven station, and a vegetarian station..oh and a dessert station that had one-too-many of my fave’s! Seriously SO much to choose from! I opted for a rainbow roll (spicy tuna inside, tuna and avocado on the outside), a side salad, and an apple (no I didn’t eat the core since I was trying to have good manners); the sushi was unbelievably fresh, the salad was crisp and refreshing, and even the apple tasted better (just kidding!). It’s probably a good thing I don’t get paid; employees simply scan their I.D. and it takes it out of their paycheck. It’d be easy to overspend since you don’t actually hand-over the cash!

Strength Training for Runners started today and I’m able to help out with the workouts and making sure the participants have proper form. The class is 4 weeks long and progresses each week; next week we’ll introduce the step as a way to strength train!

Attending Body Sculpt & Balance tonight! Review will be posted tomorrow.

See ya!

 

4 Responses to “Day 16”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin June 5, 2012 at 8:26 pm #

    I wish I had a gym that had classes like that, I am baffled by what type of strength training I should do. So awesome for you, I bet your classes will be great!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 6, 2012 at 1:27 pm #

      The turnout was huge for Strength Training for Runners! Always amazes me how runners sometimes “forget” to use weights. Maybe you could suggest some classes to add to your gym manager?

  2. Sarah June 5, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    i’m just really disappointed you didn’t eat the apple core…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 17 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 6, 2012

    […] Sculpt & Balance review: we used a stability ball, heavy and medium dumbbells, a thera-band, and a mat. Basic strength […]

Speak your mind

