Day 15

4 Jun

I’m hoping everyone had a fun and relaxing weekend as I did! I traveled, by train, to Charlotte to be a +1 for a friends’ wedding  It was a blast! Both his family and all of his friends were extremely friendly and welcoming, I couldn’t ask for a more-fun wedding to be a part of! Thanks Steven :).

all good things must come to and end though..

Since I’ve been away for the past couple of weekends, I had some veggies that looked like they were on the verge of dying; a veggie scramble it was for breakfast! I love sautéed mushrooms, especially in a port wine sauce but since it was 8:30am, I figured I’d hold out on the wine at least until noon 😉. I sautéed mushrooms and spinach before adding in 2 whisked eggs. I let it sit and coagulate before adding a string cheese right in the center so it oozed all throughout the scramble..yummo :-). I wrote my first freelance blog post last night about owning your confidence, whether it’s in an intimate setting or out on the street fully clothed. Confidence starts with YOU and the only way to make others believe your confident is for you to believe it first! (I’ll link-up the post once it’s published).

Back on the grind! Our offices had a mini face-lift; new carpeting was laid on Friday so it felt and smelled like a brand new office this morning. I’m telling you, the ambience is much more calming and motivating to put me and keep me to work! My chair was M.I.A. so I replaced it with something more fitting..ergo-ball/chair!

On today’s agenda:

  • personal training consult
  • demo-ing total body sculpt/HIIT/boot camp style class. maybe I’ll be put on the schedule after?
  • attending cycling with a newnew instructor.

This week in workouts:

  • Monday-60 minutes of Cycling*
  • Tuesday- Interval Training and/or Yoga Flow/Water Aerobics
  • Wednesday- Step I.T. and Yoga Challenge
  • Thursday- Pilates? Interval Training? Body Sculpt? YOU PICK!
  • Friday- Yoga Flow and Step

*Class review will be posted tomorrow!

Lunch today is a peanut butter pita, yogurt, and fruit. I usually only buy Whole Foods Honey Roasted PB that I grind myself but didn’t want to make a special trip this weekend; the next best? Naturally More Peanut Butter My friend Sarah got me hooked on this brand! It’s creamy and rich in flavor with flaxseeds throughout it that may or may not get stuck in your teeth.  Other benefits of a 2-tablespoon serving include:

  • zero cholesterol
  • zero grams of trans fat
  • fortified with flaxseed and flax oil, providing essential fats needed in the body for balance
  • contains omega 3’s and 6’s
  • 4 grams of dietary fiber
  • 4 net carbs*
  • 10 grams of protein

Net carbs are a result of the “low-carb” diet fad. Normally, a food’s total carb count (in grams) is calculated by subtracting the grams of protein, fat, moisture, and ash from the food’s total weight. What’s left is the total carbs. The FDA also requires that the total carb count includes grams of sugar alcohol and fiber, though these carbs have a lower impact on blood glucose levels than regular carbs because they are only partially converted (if at all) to glucose by your body. In laymen’s terms: fiber is a carbohydrate, but doesn’t affect blood sugar levels as much as other carbs do. By subtracting sugar alcohols and fiber out of the total carb count encouraged consumers to eat more fiber in a low-carb diet. That’s what the term “net carbs” means, total carb count minus the carbs that don’t affect blood sugar.

I’ve been working on my demo for Step; first class down! A little more practice and I’ll be ready to perform for my supervisors..wish me luck!

2 Responses to “Day 15”

  1. Michelle June 5, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    I love your dress!

    PS- I nominated you for an award on my blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 16 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 5, 2012

    […] Cycling was great! Ever heard of Florence + The Machine? The instructor played a lot of their songs and I felt it was the perfect match; hills were paired with intense songs that built-up as we added resistance. Sprints were high-tempo, fast-paced songs that made my legs explode with speed! Definitely more my style of cycling than the first 60-minute class I took. One of the songs we climbed a steep hill too  […]

Speak your mind

