Day 12

30 May

Excuse me while I rant. Attention: Rain=water. I don’t know what it is about rain that makes people go in panic-mode, but I swear, once the first sprinkle hits the windshield or even the thought of rain, people stall. It is okay to drive in; accelerate with caution :).

On a happier note: It’s hump day- even though it’s only a 4-day week, we’re half-way through! I awoke ravenous and all I could think about was breakfast; dippy eggs, sautéed spinach, humus bagel, and an apple!

I recently finished Fifty Shades of Grey over the weekend and was itching to read the second book in the series, Fifty Shades Darker. This series is definitely not for virgin minds but the story is captivating and leaves me wanting to know more! I took a spur-of-the-moment trip to Target and purchased the book; the woman who checked me out questioned why the book was so popular and for the first time, I was speechless. How do you describe this book!?

I always feel rainy days zap my energy; all I want to do is lay in bed and watch movies! But now that I’m doing this big-girl thing, to work I go. The commute was ridiculously long ranting again resulting in me being almost late. I got right to work on my seminar and answering emails. I planned on attending Aqua Kickboxing tonight but in order to do that, one must be wearing a bathing suit (who woulda thunk?); needless to say I forgot my bikini suit and I’ll be taking Back 2 Core & Stretch and Step II again! A second go-around, this time the class was taught by different instructors; another chance for me to learn how they teach the formats!

Lunch is similar to yesterday’s, except for a huge pear and string cheese.  String cheese makes me feel like a kid again :).

Back 2 Core & Stretch: I liked this particular class much better than last weeks. We performed more functional exercises and completed a lot more in the 30 minutes dedicated to “core” work; the last 15 minute are dedicated to stretching, which I thoroughly enjoy :-P. I don’t know if I’ve felt that strong of a burning sensation in my quads, butt, and hamstrings than I did during one particular exercise:

  • place a weighted ball in between your thighs and lift your hips off of the ground into a bridge position. keep them in the air!
  • as if this weren’t awful enough extend your right leg in the air  hold. bring it back to the mat and extend your left leg in the air  hold. continue alternating.

Not only are you in a single leg position, but your inner thighs are on f.i.r.e. because they’re working so the ball doesn’t drop. Your core is contracted the entire time to keep you stabilized..woo-wee!

Step II: LOVE. Both this class and last Friday’s step class were unbelievable! The combos were more advanced and required not only physical ability, but made you think about which foot to step with, when to step, etc. I’m in the process of learning to teach step so I’m attending as many class as I can! Each instructor offers a new teaching strategy that I can learn from and take notes.

The rest of the day will be spent shadowing personal training consults, observing Step and Sculpt and participating in Aqua Kickboxing!

Bye!

4 Responses to “Day 12”

  1. Life After Swimming May 31, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    50 shades is on my summer reading wishlist… 🙂 I have heard many interesting things about it! Also, that looks like an awesome strength move! I will have to try it out!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit May 31, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

      The series is really good I highly recommend it as long as you’re open to ANYTHING!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 13 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 31, 2012

    […] morning! The day is already going to be great since the sun is shining, compared to yesterday’s […]

  2. Day 19 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 8, 2012

    […] followed! More chicken salad with tomato slices instead of cuckes! Sweet potato crinkles and string cheese to […]

Speak your mind

