Day 11

29 May

Happy post-Memorial Day! I had a wonderful time at the beach this past weekend. My friend Kathie was nice enough to invite me to spend Memorial Day weekend with her and her family at Ocean Isle beach!

  

Kathie has magic hands! I love the braided-hair look on the beach and when I found out she learned through Pinterest how to do a fishtail braid, I put her to work! More on the beach trip to come :).

Back to reality, I had an early morning client at State’s gym then came straight to work, but not before a scrumptious bowl of overnight oats (how I’ve missed my breakfasts!). It was slim pickins at the beach so I opted for peanut butter toast and fruit every morning. When I’m a guest, I try not to be the high-maintenance picky eater that I tend to be when it comes to meals; I make the most of what’s available, keeping portions appropriate and choosing healthy alternatives.

I attended a seminar on Strength Training for Runners and thought it was very educational, especially as a runner myself. She highlighted several studies on the benefits of runners adding a strength training routine into their regime:

  • reduces the risk for injury
  • increases power and speed
  • improves running economy
A lot of questions were asked but the most important one, I thought, was “when should you do your strength training?” It all depends on your goal; if your goal is long-distance (10k’s, half-marathons, marathons), you’ll want to focus on lighter weights and higher repetitions so your muscles adapt to the repeated contractions. If your goal is shorter distances (100-400 meters, 5-8k’s), you’ll want to focus on power; plyometrics are a great way to increase your short distance PRs (form and experience allowing!).
 
During the seminar-LUNCH!  I left an avocado in the refrigerator (oops) over the weekend and went to slice it into my sandwich only to find slicing wasn’t an option. An impromptu avocado spread it was! Mixed with a little garlic humus and lemon juice-this blunder turned out palatable :).
 
 
This week in workouts:
  • Tuesday- Body Sculpt & Stretch
  • Wednesday- Aqua Kickboxing
  • Thursday- Interval Training & Low Impact
  • Friday- Body Sculpt & Step

Body Sculpt & Stretch: A typical today body fitness class that utilizes various pieces of equipment; a piece in particular I was intrigued to use are the booties! These booties that cover your shoe allow you to slide across either a sliding board or wood flooring. Great for abductor (outer thigh) and adductor (inner thigh) work, as well as lateral movements, agility, and endurace. Some of the exercises we did are shown in this video:

Have a terrific Tuesday!

6 Responses to “Day 11”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 12 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 30, 2012

    […] recently finished Fifty Shades of Grey over the weekend and was itching to read the second book in the series, Fifty Shades Darker. This series is […]

  2. Day 13 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 31, 2012

    […] trained early again so a quick egg breakfast was on the menu. I was reading an article as I was eating […]

  3. Day 15 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 4, 2012

    […] I’ve been away for the past couple of weekends, I had some veggies that looked like they were on the verge of dying; a veggie scramble it was for […]

  4. Day 16 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 5, 2012

    […] Strength Training for Runners started today and I’m able to help out with the workouts and making sure the participants have proper form. The class is 4 weeks long and progresses each week; next week we’ll introduce the step as a way to strength train! […]

  5. Day 38 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 13, 2012

    […] have a girlfriend-date with Kathie to see..!!! Share this:TwitterLinkedInStumbleUponFacebookPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to […]

  6. 250 Reps..and some « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 6, 2012

    […] her December workout challenge seemed the fit the bill. I wanted to up the ante by adding more plyometrics to the workout, so jump sumo squats and jump squats did the […]

Speak your mind

