Day 9

24 May

Last week I was searching through Craig’s List to find anyone in need of a healthy living/fitness and wellness blogger and came across a few that I sent my resume to. Not really expecting anything in return, I received an email from one of the ladies yesterday about blogging for a lingerie store! Now, I don’t know the first thing about lingerie but I do know how to get and stay fit, dress for your body type, and exude confidence, regardless of what you’re wearing-or not 😉. We spoke on the phone and it seems like a perfect fit! She was looking for a blogger who could post once a week about health/fitness/wellness with it all relating back to lingerie; exercises, healthy recipes, how to dress for your body type, and learning to be confident in oneself are all things that I feel qualified to blog about. I start next Monday and will post every week about a new topic regarding fitness and lingerie; check her website out!

I would really appreciate it if the sun would grace NC with its presence! Seeing the sun through my window makes waking up at 6:30am so much better. But so does knowing I’m training my one and only client!  I had an early morning PT session that took place at my old stomping grounds; always nice to go back and visit, however, I had to clean out my office area which left a bitter taste in my mouth :(. So many memories with great people there!

A bowl of overnight oats with cookie butter was awaiting me back at home! Apple on the side for a little crunch with a hot cup of coffee is the recipe for a kick-start kind-of morning. I was at work by 9:30am, working away on my seminar. I’m really enjoying learning how exercise can help lessen stressful situations; it amazes me what the body is capable of and how quickly stress can become a problem.

I attended Pilates today and really reaped the benefits of core strength, body awareness, and flexibility. By really I mean- my mother and I have a tape (yes, a VHS tape) of a Pilates routine that we do at home, so I felt pretty confident that I knew the exercises coming into class. I’m not saying the tape wasn’t Pilates but being in the actual class and having the instructor explain what we should be feeling and where and staring at me so I get in the correct position made the workout much harder! I’m all for workout DVDs but being in the setting with an instructor who has more time to explain the poses helps me focus more (since mind/body formats aren’t my strong suit). My favorite Pilates move is the teaser-so challenging! It’s not only a physical challenge, but a mental challenge as well to stay in that position for even a second; all of the participants in the class tried the third level and held it for 5 breaths-woo!

I also attended Pool Plyometrics after Pilates. I successfully reached my goal for the week to make it to one aqua class and even managed to keep my hair dry (SCORE!)! Pool plyometrics is meant for the more-advanced participant because it still requires jumping, bounding, lateral movements, coordination, and over-all strength, but has less of an impact on joints compared to plyometrics on land. The instructor taught on land but gave us a visual of what each exercise looked like; she broke the workout into 3 segments of 4 exercises. We did each exercise for 30 seconds with 15 seconds of complete stillness (try that in water..) Some of the exercises included tuck jumps, front kicks, split squat jumps, flutter kicks, and hamstring curls-very creative! I may convert into an yogiaqui 😉

Not only was I completely out of my element in the pool, but also wearing a bikini (DON’T JUDGE!, I just picture a few of you shaking your head..). I don’t own a one-piece! I wore the most conservative two-piece I own and tried to make it work. Let me tell you-remember the jumping and bounding I mentioned earlier? Yeah, imagine doing those movements, in a pool, while the water is pulling everything south, and you’re trying to keep everything covered. It.doesn’t.work.in.your.favor. I honestly feel bad for anyone wearing goggles who accidentally peeked over under the water because they definitely got a glimpse of my bootay! You live and you learn. I guess it’s a good enough excuse to go to Dick’s and buy a bathing suit?

After both workouts, I was more than ready for lunch- a turkey, avocado, mushroom, tomato, sprouts, and mustard sandwich between 2 slices of too-burnt bread, a side of ginormous grapes, and a travel-sized pack of pistachio’s was waiting to get in my belly!  Have you seen the travel-sized bags of pistachio’s at your grocery store? Perfectly portioned and great for grabbing them on the go; love the portability! Pistachio’s are one of the lowest fat, lowest calorie, and highest fiber nuts AND they offer more nuts in a serving compared to others-another fourtwo-fer!

 

3 Responses to “Day 9”

  1. Life After Swimming May 24, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I LOVE pistachios!!! I have 2 bags of them at home 🙂 Also, that blog job sounds great!! Can’t wait to see your posts!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 15 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 4, 2012

    […] cheese right in the center so it oozed all throughout the scramble..yummo . I wrote my first freelance blog post last night about owning your confidence, whether it’s in an intimate setting or out […]

  2. Day 29 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 28, 2012

    […] terminology in step class, sprinting to a song that’s more fitted for a climb, wearing a two-piece to a pool plyometrics class..all are “oopsies” that I’ll take and learn from so […]

Speak your mind

