Day 7

22 May

As the saying goes, “the early bird gets the worm”!

Contrary to my workout schedule, I decided to wake up at 6am and get a strength workout in. It’s been a couple of days since my last weight training session and since I had a client at 8am, I hit the dumbbells for a total body workout beforehand.

When I plan on doing only strength exercises, I like to practice time under tension (TUT); the amount of work placed on a muscle. This way of lifting refers to the total time the muscle resists weight during each set. For example, this is how I squatted during the squat track:

  • (2) 4-counts down, 4-counts up. TUT=8 seconds of tension/rep. 16 seconds total.
  • (4) 3-counts down, 1-count up. TUT=4 seconds of tension/rep. 24 seconds total.
  • (4) 2-counts down, 2-counts up. TUT=4 seconds of tension/rep. 24 seconds total.
  • (8) 1-count down, 1-count up. TUT=2 seconds of tension/rep. 16 seconds total.
The TUT my quadriceps, glutes, and hamstrings felt for the squat track was 80 seconds; I completed that 3 times through (totaling 240 seconds of TUT). Based on the table below, I’m working muscular endurance (my goal).

(source)

 (source) This chart shows the relationship between the duration of the repetition and which energy system it utilizes.

Les Mills Body Pump and Jari Love’s Get Ripped series both practice this technique in their respective formats. It’s another way to add variance to your strength training routine and preventing a plateau. I continued to use TUT with the following exercises:

  • Forward/Reverse Lunges
  • Chest Press
  • Dead Lifts & Bent-over Rows
  • Push-ups/Rotator Cuff rotations
  • Triceps Extensions
  • Hammer & Biceps Curls
  • SL Squats & Plie’s
  • Overhead Press & Lateral Raises

Successful start to the day! Breakfast was a bowl of overnight oats with cookie butter and a banana. Starbucks was en route to my internship so it was only fitting I stopped beforehand :-P.

I had the intension of attending Interval Training today, but based on my observations of last week, knew the class was going to full and didn’t want to risk my chance of not getting a number; I observed and took notes instead! 

Wanna hear something cool? When I introduced myself to the instructor, she recognized me from Raleigh Fitness Weekend back in September! She and her daughters took my class and now use the exercises in their own workouts and class formats! I’m so glad I got that opportunity 🙂

Because I woke at the crack of dawn, I really wasn’t in the mood to make lunch. I usually pack my lunch because it saves money, but now that I know I can grab an affordable, healthy lunch at work, it takes the pressure off.  Turkey and swiss sandwich. Those sweet pickles on the side are so much fun to eat!

The rest of the afternoon looks like I’ll be working away on my special project fingers crossed I can focus! Have a splendid day :).

13 Responses to “Day 7”

  1. katiemoves May 22, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    I like the way you did the TUT! thats the way a lot of Body Pump classes are set up doing the moves and I really like it. I’ll have to try it on my own sometime!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit May 22, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

      It changes up the tempo of the workout from just single reps of each exercise-time flies! My advice is to try it without music because you’ll find you’ll try and keep up with the beat of the song rather than TUT; it may throw you off! But definitely try it and let me know how it goes!!

  2. Life After Swimming May 22, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

    Wahooo that sounds like a killer workout! Go you! 🙂

  3. Health Freak College Girl May 23, 2012 at 4:10 am #

    NICE workout!

  4. Laurie @ Love, Laugh, Laurie May 23, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

    I need new strength workouts so this is really helpful!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit May 23, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      Definitely try it! It takes about an hour to complete which is the perfect amount of time for a strength training workout.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 8 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 23, 2012

    […] I. Am. So. Sore. […]

  2. Day 11 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 29, 2012

    […] client at State’s gym then came straight to work, but not before a scrumptious bowl of overnight oats (how I’ve missed my breakfasts!). It was slim pickins at the beach so I opted for peanut […]

  3. Day 19 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 8, 2012

    […] was taught by the instructor who recognized me from RFW (I like her)! It was very different and a little cray-cray though; it seemed rather […]

  4. Day 20 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 11, 2012

    […] A homemade weights […]

  5. TGIFF « K.E.P.T. You Fit - October 13, 2012

    […] rep. Another benefit of the Get Ripped series is that each workout utilizes time under tension (TUT); training in a different way than I’m used to always leads to a GREAT workout and I know […]

Speak your mind

