Day 2

16 May

Seeing the sunrise on a Tuesday morning is a great way to start the day! So is taking Body Sculpt and Stretch at 6:30am :). Today is going to be a busy day so I thought a morning workout would give me the energy I needed to get through.

Beginning with a functional warm-up, the workout started with walking lunges, lat. pulls downs using a flat resistance band, and 2 sets of 10 push-ups. Big muscle groups + littler muscles assisting=big calorie burn and fatigue! I’ve never used flat resistance bands before and I actually liked them a lot better than the round ones with the handles; they didn’t rub against my body and were much easier to increase or decrease the tension to make the exercises harder. I find that the tubing with handles can get uncomfortable when you hold the rubber part if you wanted to increase the tension on the band without switching bands entirely. Squats, lateral raises, and an overhead press/lateral raise combo were next. This exercise was different; while one arm pressed the weight overhead, the opposite arm pressed the weight to the side. It not only worked your muscles physically, but cognitively made you think about what each arm was doing- a “two-fer“! We then tied the flat resistance band around our ankles and completed side steps to work our abductors..ouchie! Plie squats, biceps curls, triceps kickbacks using the band, triceps push-ups, planks, low back, and obliques rounded out the workout.

I felt accomplished leaving! Nothing too fancy but a nice change from my usual strength workouts; the key to continue seeing results is to change-up your routine. Even if it’s the same exercises, changing the tempo, order, weight, and/or time between sets leads to muscle confusion and eventually seeing results! I believe that’s why a lot of people stop exercising and/or get bored with their workouts; they don’t change-up their routine enough and plateau. Change is good!

The rest of the day was spent meeting with more employees, observing a wellness profile, staff meeting, and setting up for a big event that’s taking place Wednesday- Employee Health and Fitness Day! Lots of activities including a 5k race around campus, a putt-putt challenge, fitness classes with twists, and prizes for all!

Remember my saying “I thought a morning workout would give me the energy I needed to get through”? Wrong-o. My energy was lagging. Whether it was from a hectic day 1 or getting up at 5:30am, it was non-existent and I struggled to enjoy the activities of today. I haven’t posted yet, but I met with a nutritionist last week to go over my diet; I plan to write an entire post about what I’ve been going through and how I’m revamping my lifestyle.

See you tomorrow!

2 Responses to “Day 2”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 3 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 16, 2012

    […] an exhausting Tuesday, I made sure to go straight to bed after dinner; call me a grandma, but I went to sleep at 9:15pm. […]

  2. Day 4 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 17, 2012

    […] Thankfully I made an appointment to get to the doctor. I contemplated taking a rest day because Tuesday mornings Body Sculpt and Stretch class had my muscles sore but, me being stubborn, I ignored the […]

Speak your mind

