It’s Here!

11 May

NC State Class of 2012

The day has finally come! My parents are on their way down now along with my brother, Chase, and my gramma. I could not be happier!! I love it when my family comes to Raleigh; I can show them everything I talk about; they can finally put a name to a face or place.

This morning I scrubbed my apartment clean from top to bottom; there’s really nothing like a clean apartment, especially when family is coming to visit. Post cleaning, breakfast in a bowl of muesli with a sliced banana and Trader Joe’s cookie butter. Has anyone tried their cookie butter? Warning: Your taste buds will explode. It has the consistency of natural-hardy peanut butter without the runs and a hint of toasted graham cracker..unbelievably good! It was my first experience putting nut butter atop muesli; usually I incorporate a healthy fat in the form of toasted almonds, flax or pumpkin seeds, but the nut butter added creaminess and I stayed satiated much longer than before. Must do more often!

 A coffee date followed at Bruegger’s with a small hazelnut coffee and skim milk; who knew Bruegger’s doesn’t make lattes or have syrup? Being a latte-addict, I was quite bummed. But I improvised and, although it was no latte, it worked.

I headed straight to the gym to get a sweat-sesh in before today’s festivities; 30 minute HIIT on the elliptical followed by a halved-version of Ripped and Chiseled. I didn’t realize how winded the intervals made me until halfway through the weights but I wanted to get a strength workout in one way or another; instead of completing rep for rep, I halved all of the exercises; the workout flew by!

Once my family gets here, we’re heading to SAS to tour the facility! Resting up tonight for the BIG DAY tomorrow!!

7 Responses to “It’s Here!”

  1. Life After Swimming May 11, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Ahhh how exciting 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit May 11, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

      Very exciting! I’m ready for another challenge in my life. Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 1 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 16, 2012

    […] got ready for work (which is what I’ll be calling it from here on out ), ate breakfast, packed my new Lululemon gym bag  and was on my way! I felt so grown-up driving to work during […]

  2. Day 2 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 16, 2012

    […] felt accomplished leaving! Nothing too fancy but a nice change from my usual strength workouts; the key to continue seeing results is to change-up your routine. Even if it’s the […]

  3. Day 7 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 22, 2012

    […] start to the day! Breakfast was a bowl of overnight oats with cookie butter and a banana. Starbucks was en route to my internship so it was only fitting I stopped beforehand […]

  4. Day 39 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - July 13, 2012

    […] where the black is, reminiscent of a Louboutin ) will be making the 500+ mile trip home to Pitt; Chase said he’d like it totes kidding.  All this to say, if you’re in the Raleigh area and […]

  5. Byebye 2012 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - December 30, 2012

    […] NC State University Class of […]

Speak your mind

