Post-Run Meal

28 Apr

My attempt at getting sun? A run!

I was on some-sort of “high” yesterday; it being the last day of Spring semester 2012, the running God’s were on my side and I tackled a 9.18 mile run! I felt the temperature was perfect; not too hot and a slight gust of wind kept me cool.

Post-run, I made myself a cottage cheese, toasted almond, and sliced strawberries bowl.

I love subscribing to magazines. Fitness, cooking, running, and sports magazines that send weekly newsletters are such a convenience; I could spend all day reading through and digesting them! I’m always interested in finding new recipes to eat pre and post runs. I try not to change things too much when it comes to my pre-run snacks, mainly because an upset stomach is never good; a big banana and peanut butter works best for me. It has a good amount of energy-providing carbohydrates and just enough fat and protein to keep hunger at bay. Another plus? Bananas contain ~290mg of potassium, a vitamin lost through glisteningsweating. Post-runs are where I like to get creative! The 30/30 rule, eat less than 30 grams of protein less than 30 minutes after a workout, is something I try to follow. Sports nutritionists recommend no more than 30 grams of protein because, like anything else in excess, it can be converted into fat AND studies show that excess protein didn’t help muscles any faster. Carbohydrates are important in a post-run meals; carbs and protein work simultaneously to replenish your glycogen stores more efficiently. The ratio of carbs to protein is ~4:1; low-fat chocolate milk has been rated the most nutritious post-exercise drink for a speedy recovery! Who thought a childhood favorite could assist your fitness goals?

Here are some post-run meals to try:

  • oatmeal or muesli topped with a banana and nuts
  • smoothie made with 1/2c. almond or regular milk, 1 scoop protein powder, fruit, and nuts
  • yogurt parfait
  • peanut butter, banana, honey, and whole wheat toast
  • cottage cheese, almonds, and strawberries
  • turkey and Swiss sandwich

H2O, H2O, H2O!! Making sure you’re hydrated pre-during-post run is crucial; especially when the temperature gets hotter. Here’s a nifty formula for you to determine your carbs and protein needs.

Have a great Saturday! Triangle Beach Music Festival is on my agenda!

One Response to “Post-Run Meal”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I am a Healthy Living Blogger. « K.E.P.T. You Fit - August 8, 2012

    […] (a calcium supplement) to increase the calcium and vitamin D in my bones as well as drinking milk and eating calcium-rich foods, and starting my day with a hefty dose of Miralax. Simple enough and […]

Speak your mind

