Raw, Toasted Almonds

10 Mar

I hope your weekend starts off on a relaxing yet healthy note!

First off- GO PACK! NC State beat Virginia yesterday 67-64! They’ll be playing UNC today at 1pm- show your support for the Wolfpack!!

Today (Wednesday) started out with a spur-of-the-moment run around North Park. When I’m home, exercising is at the end of my to-do list. I don’t know what it is but I’d rather spend time with my family than carve out an hour to myself. Instead of pushing myself to workout when I know I won’t put 100% into it, I listen to my body and go with the flow. The flow this morning was urging me to go! The high in Pittsburgh today is going to be mid-60’s; perfect weather for a run and to see the unveiling of the Mario Lemieux Statue!

If I was going to run, I wanted to complete it earlier rather than later so it wasn’t on my mind; my dad and I have plans to bar hop this afternoon! He’s on vacation and I’m on Spring Break so it’s only fitting we both live it up!

Breakfast was a hearty bowl of overnight oats made with Trader Joe’s honey Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of Old Fashioned oats and raw, toasted almond slivers. Have you ever had these from Trader Joe’s? They pack so much flavor! When I first saw the word “raw” on the label, I was skeptical that these almonds would be on the bland side and I’d have to toast them in the oven. Wrong. They are pre-toasted with no seasoning so the almond flavor really bursts. Fantastic for oats, salad, or mixed into yogurt!

Last night after my mother came home from work, she wanted a quick circuit to complete before dinner. Because she’s family, I didn’t charge her but she’s lucky! My mother did the following workout for 30 minutes; 45 seconds each exercise, 3-4X through.
1. Side squats w/ tubing
2. Push-ups w/ rows
3. Reverse lunges and biceps curls
4. Glute bridges and triceps skullcrushers.
5. Planks

You- Katie..there’s no shoulder work?
Me- Ahh, yes. Long story short and in lamens terms; my mom has no cartilage between her vertebrae. In fact, she has no balance mechanisms throughout her spine, neck, or head. There have been times when we would be yoga-ing and she completely fell over. Funny but very serious! My mother has been to every doctor in Pittsburgh and no one seems to have a cure for this. Prior to, her exercise regime was similar to mine; we’d do DVDs together (weights and cardio), walk, practice yoga and Pilates; now, she’s limited with weights workout (nothing overhead, lateral, or bent over arm movements), no high impact plyometric exercises, and anything that will cause her to strain her neck is out of the question. She enjoys swimming because it’s low impact enough that she doesn’t feel like a semi hit her the next morning yet it increases her heart and provides toning benefits. Yoga and Pilates are comfortable for her too, she just has to watch her alignment and ease into the postures.
Like everyone, my mother has good days and not-so-good days but there’s never a day that goes by where she’s sedentary because of her minor-limitations. My role model.

Have a great Saturday! I’ll be writing up another Ripped review in case you needed a new DVD to add to your collection :).

Things to stumble upon:

2 Responses to “Raw, Toasted Almonds”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 17 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 6, 2012

    […] raw, toasted almonds […]

  2. I am a Healthy Living Blogger. « K.E.P.T. You Fit - August 8, 2012

    […] when I decide to add it back in. Plus, my mom likes to do classes with me and she can’t handle the impact of a weight training class, especially when it’s pre-choreographed and the […]

Speak your mind

