Slutty Brownies

4 Mar

Happy Sunday!

I’m back in Pittsburgh for Spring Break and the weather is actually not bad! Sunny skies and warm running weather yesterday, breezy but bearable and off/on sunshine today; can’t complain for March temperatures like this :-).

Every time I come home, my mother and I vie for the daily crossword puzzle; we’re both obsessed with word puzzles! Call me crazy but ever since I’ve started doing them, my vocabulary has advanced. Maybe it’s what I use to justify to everyone who calls me a nerd but I’m sticking to it! As I was flipping through the Pittsburgh-Post Gazette, I came across an article celebrating the Oreo and it being around for a century. (Read the article-it’s very comical!)
It’s only appropriate to celebrate this American cookie with a recipe; but not just any-old recipe. This calls for a brownie; but not just any-old brownie..I’m talking a brownie recipe that ignores the standard ingredients; one that calls for so much butter you have to make a special trip to the store for; one that uses every measuring cup in your pantry; one that lures everyone in your household into the kitchen..

(Drumroll please) Slutty Brownies!

Now you may be thinking “for someone preaching healthy recipes and fitness, this seems contradicting,” but everything in moderation! I’m not telling you to sit there and eat the entire batch in one sitting (but if you do, I don’t judge 😉 ). Share with coworkers, family, and friends; treat yourself for all of your hard work by indulging a little.

Ingredients: Brownie layer

  • 10T. butter
  • 1 1/4cups sugar
  • 3/4cups cocoa powder
  • 1/2t. salt
  • 2t. vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2cups flour

Cookie Dough layer 

  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1/4cup brown sugar
  • 3/4cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/4t. vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4cups flour
  • 1/2t. salt, baking soda, and baking powder
  • 1cup chocolate chips

16 Oreos 

Prep:
1. Melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Whisk in sugar and cocoa powder. Remove from heat and add salt, vanilla extract, eggs, and flour- stirring until everything is incorporated. Sit aside.
2. Beat butter and sugars until creamy. Add in salt, vanilla extract, and egg (make sure to scrap down the sides of the bowl!). Carefully stir in flour.
3. Preheat oven to 350degrees. Spray a 9X9 baking dish with cooking spray. Pour cookie dough batter first, spreading it out so it lays evenly (push into the corners). Layer the Oreos on top, not overlapping them. Pour brownie batter on top. 
4. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the knife comes out of the brownie clean.

The verdict? AH-MAZ-ING! They’re on the denser side so a little brownie goes a long way.

Happy Birthday Oreo!

Now off to watch the Boston Bruins and New York Rangers face-off with my daddy :)!

One Response to “Slutty Brownies”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Alive! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - April 17, 2012

    […] for the NIRSA conference and received some very exciting and life-changing news! I went home to Pittsburgh for Easter which I’ve never done before in my 4 years as an undergrad; we moved homes back in […]

Speak your mind

