5X Tabata

10 Feb

Working out first thing in the morning on a Friday is the best decision ever made! It starts the weekend off on a healthy note, you don’t have to worry about it later in the day (especially after a long work week), and you’ll have plenty of energy for your Friday night festivities! Plus, it’s been shown that those who exercise earlier in the day make smarter food and/or drink choices at night..just sayin’ :).

It’s not like me to come to the gym early in the morning without a workout planned; I always stress to my clients and group-ex participants to never enter the gym without some type of plan practice what I preach.! Luckily, while waiting for the bus I went on Facebook only to find a Tabata workout staring back at me! Thanks to Lindsay, with a few adjustments to her workout, I was all set and ready to glistensweat!

Repeat the following 5 rounds of 4 exercises, 2 times through (equalling 8) for a complete tabata workout! Remember, proper form and safety cues!

Tabata 1:

  • burpees
  • sideways shuffles
  • jump squats
  • jumping jacks

Tabata 2:

  • medicine ball toe-taps
  • medicine ball squat toss
  • mountain climbers
  • alternating jump squats

Tabata 3:

  • high knees
  • push-ups
  • medicine ball hop-overs
  • “square” jumps (imagine a square is drawn, jump to each corner)

Tabata 4:

  • jump rope (with a real rope)
  • bench jumps
  • speed skaters
  • wall taps (stand in front of a wall, jump and reach as high as you can)

Tabata 5:

  • plank jacks
  • in & outs
  • russian twists
  • bicycles

A total body workout that incorporates cardio and strength done in less than 30 minutes? YES PA-LEASE!

Have a great weekend!! If you’re looking for fitness certifications-check out IFTA!

9 Responses to “5X Tabata”

  1. Susan February 10, 2012 at 6:11 pm #

    I recently came across your site and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    Hair Loss Cure

  2. Kris February 10, 2012 at 7:25 pm #

    Thank You Lovie!!! I love Tabata Workouts as I hate cardio…so this AMAZING for me!!

    xxoo

  3. In Sweetness and In Health February 10, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    This workout looks awesome great! I’m glad I was able to give you an idea of what to do 😀

  4. wnk505 February 16, 2012 at 12:42 am #

    I didn’t have time for the gym tonight so did this workout at home. Thank you for posting! It was a great workout.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit February 17, 2012 at 2:17 am #

      I’m glad I could help you out! I’ve been in that situation before where I just don’t have enough time throughout the day to make it to the gym! Body weight workouts and HIIT exercises are my go-to for those days!

  5. Greg Sims June 21, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    I’m really impressed with this! Thanks for the IFTA promotion. Can’t wait to have you as a presenter at our Raleigh Fitness Weekend Sept 21-23, 2012.

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit June 24, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

      Thank you Greg! Anyway I can find a way spread the word about Raleigh Fitness Weekend..I’m doing it!! I can’t wait to present HIIT2 and Step I.T.! Thank you for giving me this opportunity again!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The RA “Workout of Death” « K.E.P.T. You Fit - August 22, 2012

    […] this morning, I taught a total body high intensity class to the RA’s that moved on campus this past weekend. And, […]

  2. Tabata Elliptical Intervals « K.E.P.T. You Fit - September 19, 2012

    […] progress in the 10-week period. The group is semi-lively (mind you, the class begins promptly at 6am..) but very engaged. I find their energy increases once we start the warm-up; it probably […]

Speak your mind

