Roasted Cabbage

8 Feb

This post is completely dedicated to Sarah..3 recipes for cabbage!

If it weren’t for her, I would have never tried cabbage, loved it, and now eat it in the copious amounts that she does! The way she introduced me to the leafy green, cruciferous veggie is:

  • sauteing it in a little extra virgin olive oil, dried onions, salt and pepper-delicious and simple!

Here are 2 other recipes I’ve experimented with that have all tasted differently:

  • saute in oil and 1 tablespoon of butter with minced, fresh red onions, salt and pepper.
  • roast cabbage in a 425degree oven with olive oil, salt, pepper and crushed red pepper flakes for some heat*

FitBit*

Capsaicin is a thermogenic agent, which means it increases metabolic activity. This, in turn, helps to burn calories and fat. Sprinkle crushed red pepper flakes, tabasco sauce, or cayenne pepper on scrambled eggs, in pasta, or sautéed veggies! (source)

 

9 Responses to “Roasted Cabbage”

  1. Sarah February 8, 2012 at 2:37 am #

    YES! This just made my night. I am honored to have inspired your love for the best veggie out there 🙂

  2. alisonamazed February 9, 2012 at 12:19 am #

    Did you roast the cabbage whole? or cut it up? How did you do it? I wanna try it. 🙂

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit February 9, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

      I chopped the cabbage into thick chunks, layed it out on a cookie tray, drizzled extra virgin olive oil, salt, and pepper on top. Into the oven at 425 for about 40ish minutes! Delicious!

  3. alisonamazed February 9, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    By the way…I use red pepper lots, and sea vegetable is also a good fat burner, noted for burning fat from around internal organs. ..now how about that recipe for roasted cabbage 🙂

  4. Susan February 10, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    I recently came across your site and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don’t know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.

    Susan

    Hair Loss Cure

  5. ExamsKing February 22, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    Hi our family loves your nice editorial thanks and please keep it up

  6. K.E.P.T. You Fit February 9, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    All of these recipes look yummy! I’ll be giving them a try!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cabbage Rolls (No Meat! No Dairy!) | Alison Amazed - February 9, 2012

    […] Roasted Cabbage (katieept.com) […]

Speak your mind

