Final Touches

5 Feb

Hello KatieEPT.com! I’ve finally bit the bullet$17 and bought my blog domain! I’m not sure why it took me so long to make a final decision, but I’m so glad I did; hopefully this will encourage me to keep blogging and sharing my passions :).

After a night out in downtown Raleigh with goods friends and sugary drinks, my body was craving something a little more substantialprotien-y oats were on the menu! In the mix: oats, milk, vanilla bean protein powder, banana, and a sprinkle of almonds. I haven’t eaten oatmeal in a while but when I do, I like to toast the almonds. It gives them a smokey-not burnt-taste similar to a graham cracker(?). YUM.

After bummin’ around for a majority of the morning and finishing The Hunger Games, the gym was next on my to-do list. My workout was strictly strength-my knee has been bothering me so I’m keeping things low impact until tomorrow. The Canadian version of Les Mills, Jari Love’s Ripped and Chiseled workout is some serious strength training! The workout hits ALL major muscle groups two times over using a technique called Time Under Tension; tension meaning the force being applied to move the weight and time meaning the period when a muscle is under tension (eccentric and concentric contractions). Every exercise followed a similar pattern of 4(down)-4(up), 3-1, 2-2, singles, and pulses:

  1. Bulgarian Split Squats
  2. Squats
  3. Dead Lifts
  4. Chest Press
  5. Push-ups
  6. Chest Flies
  7. Bent-over Rows
  8. Triceps Dips
  9. Skullcrushers
  10. Pullovers
  11. Shoulder Press/Front-Side Raise
  12. Biceps Curls
  13. Hammer Curls

Lots of exercises but a complete total body workout! I will be sore tomorrow..

A fail-boat trip to the mall in the afternoon was not on my to-do list; after driving around the parking lot for 15 minutes trying to find a parking spot, I was to fed-up to shop!  Sushi at Domo’s Sushi made me forget about the trip!

Seeing The Woman in Black tonight! Ah.

 

5 Responses to “Final Touches”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Raw, Toasted Almonds « K.E.P.T. You Fit - March 10, 2012

    […] was a hearty bowl of overnight oats made with Trader Joe’s honey Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup of Old Fashioned oats and raw, toasted […]

  2. Yes I Say Pop « K.E.P.T. You Fit - April 29, 2012

    […] or Japanese Food? It depends what mood I’m in! I tend to only go out for Japanese food (sushi) and stay-in for Mexican-style dishes  I can make […]

  3. It’s Here! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 11, 2012

    […] today’s festivities; 30 minute HIIT on the elliptical followed by a halved-version of Ripped and Chiseled. I didn’t realize how winded the intervals made me until halfway through the weights but I […]

  4. Day 7 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 22, 2012

    […] I plan on doing only strength exercises, I like to practice time under tension (TUT); the amount of work placed on a muscle. This way of lifting refers to the total time the muscle […]

  5. Day 21 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 12, 2012

    […] was the first to-do on my agenda today; I trained at 8am, so I wanted to push myself and get the weights workout done in an […]

Speak your mind

