Beans Beans the Musical Fruit

8 Jan

Keep singing! Ohh that’s a classic.

This recipe is my dad’s favorite (I have to hide some in a container when I come home or I’ll get nada)! It’s great as a side salad and/or a main dish atop mixed greens or cottage cheese-very functional! This recipe makes a huge amount so it’ll last you a while. And like the lasagna, the more it sits-the better it becomes!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can of light red beans
  • 2 cans of green, cut beans
  • 2 cans of wax (yellow) beans
  • 2 cans of garbonzo (chick peas) beans
  • red onion slices (optional)
  • 1/2c canola oil
  • 2/3c balsamic vinegar
  • 3/4c sugar
  • 1t. salt
  • 1/2t. pepper

Prep:

  1. rinse and drain all beans. put them in a big mixing bowl.
  2. combine oil, vinegar, sugar, salt and pepper. whisk and pour over beans. toss to combine.
  3. refrigerate ~24 hours.

I made this yesterday so it will be ready tonight. I have a busy day with Team FitNasty! Meetings, meetings, meetings..

 

 

But not before a little A.M. run! I knew the day would be extremely busy and I wanted to get some thinking done and what better way to think than a run around Lake Johnson! It’s so peaceful in the morning when the sun is almost shining and there’s a crispness in the air-you can’t beat it!

 My new Garmin from Santa; it even came with a heart rate monitor so I can really track my intensity levels (more posts about this to come). He even knew my favorite color was pink! Such a smart man he is.. 😛

3 Responses to “Beans Beans the Musical Fruit”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Aerolatte aka The Greatest Invention Ever! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - January 10, 2012

    […] these mugs cute?! Again, a gift from Santa-they come in a 4-pack with sayings ” Cake is so worth the weight”, “ Love at […]

  2. Starbucks has Magic « K.E.P.T. You Fit - February 12, 2012

    […] goodness for my Garmin! 9.4405 miles in 1:17..not too shabby . Have a fabulous Sunday night watching the Grammy […]

  3. Day 26 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - June 25, 2012

    […] and wasn’t a fan. The solution? Basic french vanilla creamer. I also made my family’s bean salad over the weekend; it’ll last me at least 2 weeks which I’m completely fine with […]

Speak your mind

