Angelled Eggs

26 Nov

Have I mentioned my loathing for any food and/or condiment that’s white and creamy? I don’t know what it is but it really makes me nauseous and I can’t bare to even look at it, let alone eat it! But some recipes that are made with these foul ingredients look tasty, so I try and come up with another way to enjoy them with everyone else.

Instead of devilled eggs (commonly) made with the yolk, mayo, Dijon mustard and tabasco sauce, my family likes are eggs the “angelled” way! (I’m bummed because I thought I was sooo creative with the recipe name..come to find I’m not the creator 😦 )

Evans/Heron Family Angelled Eggs

Ingredients:

  • hard-boiled eggs (bring a large pot of water to a boil. add eggs and turn off the water. let them sit for 10 minutes)
  • hummus (we use Trader Joe’s white bean hummus-slightly garlicky, creamy and herby!)
  • teeny-tiny diced celery pieces
  • paprika

Prep:

  • cut the eggs in half, remove the yolk (you can keep the yolks for another recipe or toss them)
  • mix the hummus and celery
  • scoop a heaping spoonful of the hummus mixture into each egg half
  • sprinkle generously with paprika

 This recipe is a staple at my family get-together’s and I hope you try it too!

4 Responses to “Angelled Eggs”

  1. Dawn November 27, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    This sounds really good…I will have to give it a try. One of my favorites with deviled eggs is to use tuna…talk about packed with protein!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit November 27, 2011 at 9:34 pm #

      Please do and tell me if you like it! Tuna sounds interesting; I’ll have to test it!

  2. blogitness December 3, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    This sounds good. I love Trader Joe’s Hummus! It’s nice to find another Pittsburgh-ers blog!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit December 3, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      Isn’t Trader Joe’s the BEST!? Yes it’s always good to meet other bloggers from Pitt! Maybe we could get coffee when I’m home in a couple of weeks!?

Speak your mind

