City of Oaks Half Marathon

6 Nov

Hello all! Doesn’t it feel like it’s 3 o’clock rather than 1:30? I must say that extra hour of sleep last night helped me be extra alert to run the City of Oaks Half Marathon this morning! It took me 1:52:53 to run the 13.1 miles and I felt unstoppable! I’ve run this race every year since I was a freshman and have stayed in the same finishing time-frame. Why? I don’t run to compete, I run simply because I enjoy it :). It’s kind of my tradition to finish the race season with the Raleigh half marathon and the Richmond half marathon next weekend with my best friend Sarah! 2 half marathons in 6 days sounds like a pretty legit way to go out with a bang!

Back  to why I’ve completed the race in the same time frame for 4 years..because I only run when I want to run. I don’t follow a running plan, I don’t wear a water belt, I don’t carbo-load and I don’t try to reach PR’s. Running for me is therapeutic; it’s a stress reliever, a form of cardio exercise, a way to see new scenery, a social gathering and a good excuse to persuade my parents to buy me new shoesies :-P. I always approach races in the same way; find someone who’s I thinkfaster than me and watch them (not in a creeper-sorta-way). If I pass them, I find someone else; it’s more of a game to me than a competition. That’s how I keep my pace consistent throughout the miles.

I also play If I were President, I’d (fill in the blank here). My newest “law” would be to (sorry guys!) mandate men to wear longer shorts during races; some of these shorts were teeny-tiny and not leave much to the imaginationrevealed too much. Short shorts are FINE as long as there are compression shorts underneathplease.

Another perk to running races is the community involvement and support. The half marathon took us around downtown Raleigh, through some residential areas, to the RBC Center/Carter-Finley Stadium and back. While running through the residential areas, lots of people who lived back there came out with signs and yelled at anyone who passed! It’s so awesome and motivating to hear your name, followed by “You Can Do It!” from a very nice stranger :). It also helps to have Natalie, one of the BEST BOSSES in the world, ride her bike and find you amidst hundreds of people with the infamous “thumbs up” sign! After playing many games of Where’s WaldoNatalie, the race was already over.

Another very successful race in the books!

2 Responses to “City of Oaks Half Marathon”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On the Pumpkin Bandwagon « K.E.P.T. You Fit - September 28, 2012

    […] heard wonderful things about the course so I’m super excited that it’s my first half marathon in […]

  2. Brooksie Way Half Marathon Review « K.E.P.T. You Fit - October 1, 2012

    […] did it! First half marathon completed in Michigan; add that to runs done in Pittsburgh, Raleigh, and Richmond! I’d really love to run a half marathon in all of the states..bucket list-style […]

Speak your mind

