Yoga is a MUST!

27 Oct

Have you ever said something along the lines of “I know I should do it..but I don’t”? I say that about yoga all the time..and yesterday I finally did something about it! I know the benefits of yoga: increased flexibility, balance and coordination, improvement in posture and strength, lower blood pressure and stress levels, etc. and after yesterday’s class, I realized that I need to make time to practice yoga more often. I participated in Catherine’s yoga flow class, which combines yoga and Pilates exercises, resulting in a completely new glistening workout sesh :p.

“I always start with a simple warm up like cat rolling and then from there introduce some of the major poses we will be flowing through like down dog and up dog,” explains Catherine. “For the main flow, I always try to find a really challenging format that pushes every level in the class.”

Here’s an example of a my legs were shakingchallenging flow:

  • runner’s lunge-warrior 1-twisting warrior 2-warrior 2
  • reverse warrior-extended side angle pose (we connected our hands but that’s beyond my terminology 🙂 )

Pretty intense-eh?

Catherine finishes up her class with restorative-thank goodness-poses..

“so people forget how hard they worked and just concentrate on the relaxation. At the end there is always around 10 minutes for a series of meditative poses.”

FitBit*

Step out of your comfort zone and try a new class. You’ll  experience a “new” sore, work muscles that you may not have known you had before, and if nothing else, learn a new technique you can take back and use in your respective class! It’s always fun to be a participant once in a while :D.

4 Responses to “Yoga is a MUST!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Raw, Toasted Almonds « K.E.P.T. You Fit - March 10, 2012

    […] no balance mechanisms throughout her spine, neck, or head. There have been times when we would be yoga-ing and she completely fell over. Funny but very serious! My mother has been to every doctor in […]

  2. Day 5 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 20, 2012

    […] took a 50-minute Yoga class today which I thoroughly enjoyed. Yoga is something I know I need to do much more, but just don’t. It’s a different type of […]

  3. ROCKtober Review & Workout « K.E.P.T. You Fit - October 17, 2012

    […] be a long, drawn-out workout; even a quick 20 minute circuit, strength training, cardio workout, or yoga/Pilates session will do the trick. It’s about finding “you” in the workout; you’ll […]

  4. ROCKtober Review & Workout « OU CampusRec - October 26, 2012

    […] long, drawn-out workout; even a quick 20 minute circuit, strength training, cardio workout, or yoga/Pilates session will do the trick. It’s about finding “you” in the workout; you’ll put more effort […]

Speak your mind

