Helping Train the Future

27 Sep

NC State University Recreation offers trainee classes for students, faculty, and staff to become either a group fitness instructor or personal trainer. Although the process for each class is different, the end goal is to educate and provide the knowledge, tools and equipment needed in order to succeed.

I assist in teaching the ACE Personal Training class with the goal of helping students, just like me, hopefullypass the exam and learn how to train functionally. A former student, co-worker and friend, Kayla Smitherman,  recently emailed me saying this:

“I hope ur semester is going well! I just wanted to message u to let u know that I passed the ACE exam and I also took the AFAA exam and passed it too. Thanks for all of ur help and ur work with the training class, it was very helpful!”

Isn’t that awesome?! Not only did she pass the ACE exam, but she also took the group fitness trainee class and passed the AFAA exam! This is one of many reasons why I love doing what I do- assisting people of all ages reach their goals. Whether the goal is with a personal training client relating to weight loss or a trainee learning how to do a fitness assessment correctly or a co-worker asking for a favor with their program area- I take pride in being asked for assistance and knowing that I’m a person they trust and can turn to for a helping hand. I feel a lot of people I work with and surround myself with are the same way-we all want the end goal to be successful.

FitBit*

Surround yourself with positive people, environments, and thoughts. Negative things in your life will only bring you down. It’s the people who make us laugh, an environment that’s stress-free, and thoughts that are only positive that will lead us to be successful in all of our goals!

power in positivityPhoto by Pinterest

2 Responses to “Helping Train the Future”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Day 10 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 25, 2012

    […] they’re asking, and their choice of words or phrases. It’s boggling to me; in the PT class I assisted with, we’d have participants “pretend” to have a health issue or […]

  2. Hello Oakland University! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - August 20, 2012

    […] working within Campus Recreation, it is much different from my work as a student director at NC State but in a good way; I’m anxious to get the semester started come […]

Speak your mind

