IFTA Raleigh Fitness Weekend HITBI

19 Sep

I’m so blessed :). This past weeekend, NCSU hosted the Interactive Fitness Trainers of America Raleigh Fitness Weekend event! Such a great opportunity to network with professionals, meet new instructors from all over, and take tons of different classes that you might not be able to take anywhere else.  I, along with my boss and another instructor at U.Rec., was asked to be a presenter and teach a class-how cool AND honored??! For me, this was a dream come true; to not only be in the presence of my idols like Gay Gasper, Petra Kolber, and Greg Sims but also to be able to network and talk about how they got started in the fitness business was surreal. I can only keep practicing and being persistent to be on their level one day..

The class I taught was High Intensity Total Body Intervals; a weightless workout that interspersed short, intense intervals with toning exercises using the best tool God gave us-our body! Here’s the deets:

Lower body:

  • single-leg squats (pulses, tap forward-side-back)
  • single-leg power jumps
  • squats (pulses, jumps)

Upper body:

  • push-ups
  • staggered push-ups
  • triceps push-ups
  • triceps dips

Lower body:

  • forward/reverse lunges (pulses, knee lifts)
  • clock lunges (forward-side-reverse, pulses, knee lifts)
  • plie squats w/ calf raise (pulses, jumps)
  • bent-over, single-leg hamstring curls

Upper body:

  • diamond push-ups (they LOVED these!)
  • lateral “walking” push-ups
  • can-can triceps dips
  • side-lying triceps push-ups

Core:

  • dead bug

The class flew by and I had a blast teaching it! The participants had high energy (for it being Sunday at 11am), they were interactive and personable with me, and they even asked for a copy of my workout! MY PERSONAL WORKOUT! How honored I felt to almost be “a master trainer”; it’s a feeling that I have and will yearn for and I’m determined to achieve it again and again..

4 Responses to “IFTA Raleigh Fitness Weekend HITBI”

  1. shep September 19, 2011 at 12:46 am #

    I wish I could hug you right now. I feel like a proud mama – you are conquering your dreams, and I am honored to support you along the way. A best friend who inspires me everyday… what more could a girl ask for?

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit September 19, 2011 at 12:49 am #

      I wish you were there! It was such an amazing experience! You’re the best friend ever! and always remind me to reach for my dreams!! Can’t wait to see you in less than a month!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your New IFTA Blogger! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - January 9, 2012

    […] Raleigh Fitness Weekend? I’ve been in contact and asked if I could blog about upcoming events, certifications, […]

  2. Day 7 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 22, 2012

    […] hear something cool? When I introduced myself to the instructor, she recognized me from Raleigh Fitness Weekend back in September! She and her daughters took my class and now use the exercises in their own […]

Speak your mind

