Roasted Acorn Squash

15 Sep

Have I mentioned I LOVE FALL? If I haven’t..I LOVE FALL! The crisp weather, UGG boots and colorful scarves, hockey and football games, pumpkin spice lattes from Starbucks, sitting by a fire place, fall foods..I could go on for hours.. :).

I bought my first of many squashes of the season and it was delicious! I’ve never made acorn squash like this before and it will definitely be a staple in my fall recipe file.

Ingredients:

  • acorn squash-halved and seeds removed
  • thinly sliced white onion
  • 1T. butter
  • 1/2t. cumin
  • 1/4t. cinnamon
  • 1/4t. salt

Preparation

  • preheat oven to 425degrees. place squash-skin side down-on a baking sheet (with sides)-drizzle with olive oil, salt, and pepper-fill baking sheet with water (about halfway up the squash). bake ~55 minutes.
  • melt butter in a saucepan over medium heat. add onions and saute ~10 minutes. add cumin, cinnamon, and salt-stir.
  • when squash is roasted, using a fork, scrape the flesh out and add it to the onion mixture.
  • stir to combine and serve the mixture in the squash skin for a pretty presentation! (sorry no pictures)

I LOVE FALL 😛

One Response to “Roasted Acorn Squash”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Start of FitBits « K.E.P.T. You Fit - September 25, 2011

    […] for my latte & […]

Speak your mind

