Muesli!

31 Jul

Don’t let the name scare you-it’s delicious! Thanks to all of the blog’s I’ve read about overnight oats, I decided to be adventurous and try something new. Muesli is a combination of rolled oats, dried fruit, and nuts; it’s soaked in milk or yogurt overnight and in the morning you have a tasty, soppy mess for breakfast! ūüôā

  • 1/2 cup prepared muesli (I usually make my own, but I thought I’d try Bob’s Red Mill Old Country muesli)
  • 1/2 cup milk or almond milk (unsweetened vanilla)
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1 spoonful of vanilla extract

Stir the ingredients in a big bowl and put the mixture in the refrigerator overnight. In the A.M…

  • add any fruit you like (I like to freeze my fruit the night before then add it to my oats so it thaws in the mixture)
  • extra nuts and/or granola (I’ve seen this in many recipes; soggy oats + crunchy granola = texture explosion!)
  • 1 teaspoon of honey or sweetener
  • any nut butter-almond, peanut, sunflower, etc. for creaminess

Ta-da! A bowl of delicious-ness to start your day!I love experimenting with different ingredients and this breakfast dish is one that cannot go wrong!

 

7 Responses to “Muesli!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday Intervals « K.E.P.T. You Fit - January 13, 2012

    […] followed, a tasty bowl of muesli¬†with a banana and a hottt latte . Mat cleaning, office work and a chat with Jennifer finished the […]

  2. Quick Pasta Bake and W.o.D. « K.E.P.T. You Fit - January 14, 2012

    […] Saturday! Breakfast was yet again another tasty bowl of Muesli¬†with an apple and a latte. Thanks Bob, but I’ve decided to save some money and make my own […]

  3. Back In Action! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - January 19, 2012

    […] muesli to power me through a morning full of […]

  4. Turkey Burgers with a Feta Surprise « K.E.P.T. You Fit - February 4, 2012

    […] breakfast, work, client, POWER hour! I’m very excited about the workout today since I already know […]

  5. Post-Run Meal « K.E.P.T. You Fit - April 28, 2012

    […] or muesli¬†topped with a banana and […]

  6. It’s Here! « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 11, 2012

    […] a clean apartment, especially when family is coming to visit. Post cleaning, breakfast in a bowl of muesli with a sliced banana and Trader Joe’s cookie butter. Has anyone tried their cookie butter? […]

  7. Day 8 « K.E.P.T. You Fit - May 23, 2012

    […] overnight oats/muesli […]

Speak your mind

