Look Who’s Back, Back, Back

9 May

Katie’s Back! (to the tune of Eminem..)

Hello hello!

It’s been so long. Too long, since I’ve posted last. SO much has happened I don’t even know where to start!

Crazy to look back and reflect on where I was one year ago;

I’ve had the opportunity to do so much in one year; meeting new people, living in a new city, going to grad school, completing a graduate assistantship, working part-time, and trying to keep everything balanced. And those are the things that just standout!

I’m happy to share that I’ve successfully completed my first year as a full-time graduate student! It wasn’t easy; juggling a full-time course load, a graduate assistantship, a part-time job, and maintaining somewhat of a social life definitely took its toll one or two or three or four times. But I wouldn’t have had it any other way! These past 8 months have been eye-opening, both professionally and personally, and I’m not mad at the person I’m becoming.

The classes I took in the Winter 2013 semester were my favorite to date; Leadership Theory and Development and Instructional Design. The leadership theory class looked at different traits of leaders, qualities leaders possess, and characteristics of each leadership theory. Our final project was to complete an assessment on another classmate; we were paired with someone we didn’t know well and asked various personal and behavioral questions. Bases on their answers of the questions, we assigned 4 assessment tests they had to take and turn back in. Once we had the results, we broke down each test based on our research of each theory and discussed their areas of strength and areas where there can be improvement, recommendations, and feedback. It was an awesome assignment (who am I?)! The thought of having someone who doesn’t know you assess you is kind of scary at first, but they have no opinions coming into it which makes it a real conversation.

One of our projects in Instructional Design was to create a “How To” manual; I chose to create a “How To” manual for my part-time job which showed educators how to create a product notification email. I plan on printing the manual out and sharing it with the company! Whether or not we can use it, I put so much time and effort into creating it and want to show it off! The manual includes a task analysis of step-by-step procedures and a prototype that has 3 parts: an educator guide, guide for key leader, and key leader guide, that breaks down each step of the process into SAY, DEMONSTRATE, PRACTICE, FEEDBACK, and so-on. Did I mention how much time I spent on this?

Looking ahead, I plan on blogging regularly with workouts, recipes, tips, and those random posts I know you love so much! I’m taking 2 summer classes each semester; summer 1 is Program Administration and summer 2 is Team Development. On the GA-front, we’ll be filming group ex videos, updating the website, developing student instructors, routing running/walking routes, dabbling in payroll and budgets, and trying to get as much experience as I can in these next few months while things are slower on campus. At lululemon,  I’m continuing to develop into a part-time leader where I’m working on leading self, then others, then a company.

Stay tuned :)

3 Responses to “Look Who’s Back, Back, Back”

  1. sarahsdoodles May 10, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    Congrats on everything you’ve acxomplished! I’m with ya, girl, maintaining a regular blogging schedule is NOT easy! I recently took a goal setting seminar from Lulu. Love the way they help put things in perspective!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit May 10, 2013 at 11:24 am #

      Thank you! How do you keep track of blogging? Any tips?? lululemon does an awesome job at goal setting :):)

  2. Life After Swimming May 10, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

    You are so awesome! Glad to have you back :)

Speak your mind

