Get Some Fitness, Beverly Hills, MI

5 Feb

I’m not sure how I’m typing this post; my arms, shoulders, back-even my KNUCKLES-are still shaking from Friday morning! See.. they would still be trembling if I wrote this post the day of ;)

Lulu kickboxing

Jenny, me, Allie, and Liz!

Jenny, Allie, Liz, and I ventured to Get Some Fitness in Beverly Hills Michigan for a 9:30am workout named The Grind. What’s The Grind you ask?

Basically, it was an hour-long session of kicking-the-shi*t-out-of-a-punching-bag workout that mixed jabs, hooks, jumping squats and lunges, and crunches without rest. Oh..how could I forget to mention a few burpees were thrown into the mix! Seriously, from the minute 9:32am came, I was already feeling the burn in my quads from the warm-up of alternating lunges..and usually I’m the one saying “more, more!” cause it takes me a while to really feel the burn. One of the warm-up exercises I really enjoyed was a deep squat with an accentuated “hip thrust” (if you will), which allowed our hip flexors to really open up and ready themselves for lots more squats and lunges!

Punching bags

Right after the warm-up, it was go-time. Literally 50 minutes of punches. Jon, the instructor, called out various combos to upbeat and high-tempo music that not only motivated us, but kept us on pace. Every once in a while, he’d tell us to do this many burpees, lunges, push-ups, and squats to give our shoulders and back a rest, but then we’d go right back to the punching bag.

I loved the workout! Tough-extremely tough, but doable. Jon kept encouraging us to do our best and always reminded us to stay on our toes (opposite of what I always tell my clients and participants!). Another thing I appreciated about the class and Jon was that not once did the words “burning calories”, “melting fat”, and/or “work off what you ate” was said. When I take classes at private gyms, that’s all I hear. Why can’t we have 1 hour of our day not be focused on the negatives?!

I highly recommend visiting Get Some Fitness in Beverly Hills, MI for a kick-butt workout! It’s not one to disappoint :).

6 Responses to “Get Some Fitness, Beverly Hills, MI”

  1. sarahsdoodles February 6, 2013 at 1:05 am #

    I’ve actually never tried exercising with a punching bag, but it sounds like it would be a helluva workout!! kickboxing classes always give me the BEST workout, though. I took one last week for the first time in months and I was sore for days!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit February 6, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

      You need to try one! Seriously a great way to bust out of a plateau and try something new. I think I’m still feeling the punches today :)

  2. Alex @ therunwithin February 6, 2013 at 1:25 am #

    I have been dying to do boxing like that, i heard it is killer!

    • K.E.P.T. You Fit February 6, 2013 at 2:24 pm #

      I HIGHLY recommend checking a class out! It was kick-butt! I felt it for days after, in a good way of course :-P.

  3. strength training February 6, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    I really like what you guys are usually up too. Such clever work and reporting!

    Keep up the good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to blogroll.

Speak your mind

